Communication for business and the professions : strategies and skills by Judith Dwyer This text has been written for students studying in Australia who are seeking to enhance their communication skills and opportunities for employment and career progression within businesses, organisations and the professions. Easy to understand – The text has a plain-English writing style and is supported by a consistent and accessible design, case studies and practice questions. This helps students to understand communication principles and apply them in their interpersonal and professional interactions. Updated – The 7th edition has been updated to reflect feedback from considerable engagement with our customers and curriculum expectations. Contemporary – The text includes real-life current examples, case studies, a focus on group-work in assessment and details modern trends in the industry.

Dialogue and the art of thinking together. A pioneering approach to communicating in business and in life by William Isaacs Dialogue provides practical guidelines for one of the essential elements of true partnership--learning how to talk together in honest and effective ways. Reveals how problems between managers and employees, and between companies or divisions within a larger corporation, stem from an inability to conduct a successful dialogue.

The all-new don't think of an elephant! : know your values and frame the debate by George Lakoff "[Lakoff is] the father of framing."--The New York Times "An indispensable tool for progressives--packed with new thinking on framing issues that are hotly debated right now."--Jennifer M. Granholm, former governor of Michigan Ten years after writing the definitive, international bestselling book on political debate and messaging, George Lakoff returns with new strategies about how to frame today's essential issues. Called the "father of framing" by The New York Times, Lakoff explains how framing is about ideas--ideas that come before policy, ideas that make sense of facts, ideas that are proactive not reactive, positive not negative, ideas that need to be communicated out loud every day in public. The ALL NEW Don't Think of an Elephant! picks up where the original book left off--delving deeper into how framing works, how framing has evolved in the past decade, how to speak to people who harbor elements of both progressive and conservative worldviews, how to counter propaganda and slogans, and more. In this updated and expanded edition, Lakoff, urges progressives to go beyond the typical laundry list of facts, policies, and programs and present a clear moral vision to the country--one that is traditionally American and can become a guidepost for developing compassionate, effective policy that upholds citizens' well-being and freedom.

Handbook of Risk and Crisis Communication by Robert L. Heath and H. Dan O'Hair (Editors) The Handbook of Risk and Crisis Communication explores the scope and purpose of risk, and its counterpart, crisis, to facilitate the understanding of these issues from conceptual and strategic perspectives. Recognizing that risk is a central feature of our daily lives, found in relationships, organizations, governments, the environment, and a wide variety of interactions, contributors to this volume explore such questions as: "What is likely to happen, to whom, and with what consequences?"; "To what extent can science and vigilance prevent or mitigate negative outcomes?"; and "What obligation do some segments of local, national, and global populations have to help other segments manage risks?", shedding light on the issues in the quest for definitive answers. The Handbook offers a broad approach to the study of risk and crisis as joint concerns. Chapters explore the reach of crisis and risk communication, define and examine key constructs, and parse the contexts of these vital areas. As a whole, the volume presents a comprehensive array of studies that highlight the standard principles and theories on both topics, serving as the largest effort to date focused on engaging risk communication discussions in a comprehensive manner. With perspectives from psychology, sociology, anthropology, political science, economics, and communication, the Handbook of Risk and Crisis Communication enlarges the approach to defining and recognizing risk and how should it best be managed. It provides vital insights for all disciplines studying risk, including communication, public relations, business, and psychology, and will be required reading for scholars and researchers investigating risk and crisis in various contexts.

An Introduction to Communication by Lynn H. Turner and Richard West Prioritizing brevity and clarity, this textbook introduces the study of communication through examples and applications of communication in a variety of contexts. With a unique focus on diversity and the impact of culture, each chapter opens with a case study that identifies a communication challenge, which the chapter addresses throughout, and concludes with questions that respond to that challenge. A consistent, organized structure with numerous features including fundamental issues, questions for understanding and analysis, theoretical insight (examining a particular relevant theory), and a skill set section, easily guides you through the foundations of the study of communication. Cross-referencing between chapters demonstrates the multidimensional nature of communication and the everyday talk sections demonstrate how each topic relates to technology, the workplace, or health issues. Offering a wealth of diverse examples from students' personal, professional, and online lives, this book teaches skills allowing students from all academic backgrounds to understand communication.

The magic of dialogue : transforming conflict into cooperation by Daniel Yankelovich In this groundbreaking work, famed social scientist and world-famous public opinion expert Daniel Yankelovich reinvents the ancient art of dialogue. Successful managers have always known how to make decisions and mobilize coworkers. But as our businesses continue to expand, conversations and discussions just aren't enough to bring people and their different agendas together anymore. Dialogue, when properly practiced, will align people with a shared vision, and help them realize their full potential as individuals and as a team. Drawing on decades of research and using real life examples, The Magic of Dialogue outlines specific strategies for maneuvering in a wide range of situations and teaches managers, leaders, business people, and other professionals how to succeed in the new global economy, where more players participate in decision-making than ever before.

The Mathematical Theory of Communication by Claude E. Shannon and Warren Weaver Scientific knowledge grows at a phenomenal pace--but few books have had as lasting an impact or played as important a role in our modern world as The Mathematical Theory of Communication, published originally as a paper on communication theory more than fifty years ago. Republished in book form shortly thereafter, it has since gone through four hardcover and sixteen paperback printings.  It is a revolutionary work, astounding in its foresight and contemporaneity.  The University of Illinois Press is pleased and honored to issue this commemorative reprinting of a classic.    

More Than Words: An Introduction to Communication by Richard Dimbleby and Graeme Burton This new edition of the best-selling text has been fully revised and updated to take into account new developments in communication and media studies. More Than Words provides an introduction to both communication theory and practice. The authors cover essential elements of communication, including communication between individuals and groups, in organizations and through mass media and new technologies. The fourth edition features: new case studies and assignments an updated series of key questions helping students to understand central concepts in communication studies expanded sections on mass media and on practical communication and media skills guidance on listening skills, interpersonal and social skills, writing skills, leaflet design, and planning, scripting, and producing audio and video material. More Than Words is illustrated with new models and photographs and has checklist summaries for easy revision purposes. Clear and practical, it is an essential text for students of communication studies.

On Dialogue by David Bohm; Lee Nichol (Editor) Never before has there been a greater need for deeper listening and more open communication to cope with the complex problems facing our organizations, businesses and societies. Renowned scientist David Bohm believed there was a better way for humanity to discover meaning and to achieve harmony. He identified creative dialogue, a sharing of assumptions and understanding, as a means by which the individual, and society as a whole, can learn more about themselves and others, and achieve a renewed sense of purpose.

The Hidden Persuaders by Vance Packard; Mark Crispin Miller (Introduction by) "One of the best books around for demystifying the deliberately mysterious arts of advertising."--Salon "Fascinating, entertaining and thought-stimulating."--The New York Times Book Review "A brisk, authoritative and frightening report on how manufacturers, fundraisers and politicians are attempting to turn the American mind into a kind of catatonic dough that will buy, give or vote at their command--The New Yorker Originally published in 1957 and now back in print to celebrate its fiftieth anniversary, The Hidden Persuaders is Vance Packard's pioneering and prescient work revealing how advertisers use psychological methods to tap into our unconscious desires in order to "persuade" us to buy the products they are selling. A classic examination of how our thoughts and feelings are manipulated by business, media and politicians, The Hidden Persuaders was the first book to expose the hidden world of "motivation research," the psychological technique that advertisers use to probe our minds in order to control our actions as consumers. Through analysis of products, political campaigns and television programs of the 1950s, Packard shows how the insidious manipulation practices that have come to dominate today's corporate-driven world began. Featuring an introduction by Mark Crispin Miller, The Hidden Persuaders has sold over one million copies, and forever changed the way we look at the world of advertising. Vance Packard (1914-1996) was an American journalist, social critic, and best-selling author. Among his other books were The Status Seekers, which described American social stratification and behavior, The Waste Makers, which criticizes planned obsolescence, and The Naked Society, about the threats to privacy posed by new technologies.

Jonestown : the power and the myth of Alan Jones by Chris Masters The most eagerly anticipated book of the year - the compelling and probing, Jonestown takes us to the hazardous intersection of populism and politics, reaching deep into a powerful industry and exposing the myth and the magic of a very powerful man.

Manufacturing consent : the political economy of the mass media by Edward S. Herman and Noam Chomsky A "compelling indictment of the news media's role in covering up errors and deceptions" (The New York Times Book Review) due to the underlying economics of publishing--from famed scholars Edward S. Herman and Noam Chomsky. With a new introduction. In this pathbreaking work, Edward S. Herman and Noam Chomsky show that, contrary to the usual image of the news media as cantankerous, obstinate, and ubiquitous in their search for truth and defense of justice, in their actual practice they defend the economic, social, and political agendas of the privileged groups that dominate domestic society, the state, and the global order. Based on a series of case studies--including the media's dichotomous treatment of "worthy" versus "unworthy" victims, "legitimizing" and "meaningless" Third World elections, and devastating critiques of media coverage of the U.S. wars against Indochina--Herman and Chomsky draw on decades of criticism and research to propose a Propaganda Model to explain the media's behavior and performance. Their new introduction updates the Propaganda Model and the earlier case studies, and it discusses several other applications. These include the manner in which the media covered the passage of the North American Free Trade Agreement and subsequent Mexican financial meltdown of 1994-1995, the media's handling of the protests against the World Trade Organization, World Bank, and International Monetary Fund in 1999 and 2000, and the media's treatment of the chemical industry and its regulation. What emerges from this work is a powerful assessment of how propagandistic the U.S. mass media are, how they systematically fail to live up to their self-image as providers of the kind of information that people need to make sense of the world, and how we can understand their function in a radically new way.