LibGuides: Law: Journal Articles

Finding journal articles

Journal articles are NOT found in the catalogue. To find relevant journal articles you may need to search one or more databases. These databases may provide the full text or references to journal articles. Databases such as Legal Online Journals or HeinOnline are full text. Whereas AGIS or CaseBase Journal Articles will provide a reference to the article and you will need to locate the full text.

To select the appropriate index you should consider the jurisdiction and the topic. Eg if you only want Australian articles you will get more specific results if you search an Australian database.

AGIS (Attorney-General's Information Service) This link opens in a new window
AGIS indexes law journals from the Australian, New Zealand and Asia Pacific region from 1975 onwards. Dedicated to content from and about Australia, New Zealand and the Asia-Pacific region, plus selected articles from other jurisdictions including United Kingdom, United States and Canada, with articles by researchers worldwide.
Australasian Legal Scholarship Library (AustLII) This link opens in a new window
Full text academic law journals in Australia and New Zealand.
APAFT Australian Public Affairs full-text
This index and full text database provides access to scanned images of journal articles from published material on the social sciences and humanities and is based on the journal indexing of the Australian Public Affairs Information Service (APAIS). Coverage from 1995 onwards.
CaseBase Journal Articles (search) (Lexis+) This link opens in a new window
Indexes Australian and overseas legal journals.
CINCH: Australian Criminology Database
An index of materials covering all aspects of crime and criminal justice. Source documents include journal articles, books, book chapters, conference papers, government documents, book reviews, and theses. Subject coverage includes corrections, crime prevention, criminal law, criminology, juvenile justice, law enforcement, police and victims of crime. Statistical publications are gradually being added.
FAMILY (Australian Family & Society Abstracts) This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts articles from published and unpublished material on research, policy and practice issues about, or of relevance to, Australian families.
HeinOnline Law Journal Library This link opens in a new window
Contains full-text law and law-related periodicals, including many Australian titles. Coverage is from the first issue published. The most recent issues of the journal title may not be available in this collection.
Index to Legal Periodicals Related to Law This link opens in a new window
This index, begun in 1958, includes English language articles that are not indexed in the other major legal periodical indexes.
Informit Online This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text and indexed abstract databases regarding Australian issues; includes Attorney General's Information Service (AGIS); Australian Public Affairs - Fulltext (APA-FT); Indigenous Collection; Australian Family & Society Abstracts (FAMILY); Australian Criminology Database (CINCH).
Informit Indigenous Collection (IIC) This link opens in a new window
This comprehensive collection covers both contemporary and historical issues within the field of Indigenous studies. Its multidisciplinary and interdisciplinary framework encompasses anthropology, community development, cultural studies, economics, education, health, history, human geography, law, land rights, literature, politics, policy making, (post)-colonial studies, psychology, race studies, sociology and visual & performing arts.
Law & Justice Foundation NSW This link opens in a new window
NSW Law and Justice Foundation's database of access to justice research. It contains full text versions of the Foundation’s research reports, abstracts of other research reports from Australia and around the world, plain language law resources and the reports and research of key access to justice organisations in NSW.
LegalTrac This link opens in a new window
Indexes major law reviews, legal newspapers and international legal journals (including a number of Australian titles). Many of the articles are also available in full-text.
Lexis+ Secondary Materials (search) This link opens in a new window
Full text Australian legal journals, newsletters and commentaries can be searched or browsed. This search menu also includes the CaseBase journal articles database.

Open Access Law Reviews and Legal Commentary Meta Search
This is a customised Google search of a range of open access law journals.

ParlInfo This link opens in a new window
ParlInfo lets you search for information on a topic and obtain Australian Parliamentary information including Hansards, bills, senate journals, votes and proceedings, notice papers, committee reports, the Parliamentary Handbook, media and selected journals. Mostly full text.
Westlaw AU Secondary Sources This link opens in a new window
Search by all journals, title, practice area or by jurisdiction.
Westlaw Law Reviews and Journals This link opens in a new window
Journals and Law Reviews contains documents from law reviews and CLE materials from US and Canadian based publications. Coverage varies by publication. To search for international material or material by topic click on the relevant links from this page.
Westlaw UK journal articles This link opens in a new window
Search articles from legal journals from the UK and Europe, and journals covering topics pertaining to the laws of the European Community.