ANU Data Commons

The ANU Data Commons is a central data repository for ANU research data. The repository is designed to securely store data and ensure that the data is immune to format and media changes so that the data can be read and reused. Access to the data can be open (anyone can download and access it) or embargoed (access is restricted until a particular date) or restricted (people have to ask to get access to the data). For more information, please contact repository.admin@anu.edu.au

ANU Open Research

Open Research allows members of the University to share their research with the wider community. Open Research accepts journal articles, conference papers, book chapters, working or technical papers, creative works, public lectures and other non-traditional forms of research outputs. It is also a repository for digital images of manuscripts and photographs from the University's research collections and archives. For more information, please contact repository.admin@anu.edu.au.

Filesender

FileSender is a file sharing solution for the research and education sector. It is securely hosted through Australia's Academic and Research Network (AARNet). ANU users can login using ANU creditials.

ANU SafeShare

ANU SafeShare is a highly secure, encrypted file storage and collaboration platform that allows controlled, authorised access for external file sharing.  Files are encrypted end-to-end and at rest, with one unique encryption key for each file, so even if the system was compromised, your documents are protected from being accessed by anyone that you have not authorised. All ANU staff are able to access ANU SafeShare. Accounts are created on request and can be requested via the ANU Service Portal (linked in the Quick Links section). Once an account is created you can access ANU SafeShare using your ANU email and password

National Computational Infrastructure (NCI)

The National Computational Infrastructure (NCI) provides advanced computing support to a wide spectrum of research fields, including earth science, engineering, social science and the humanities. Advanced computing includes high performance computing, large or complex data management, high-end visualization (including virtual environments), and virtual community management.

NCI supports projects with large data or data intensive requirements. The areas covered include:

• managing large or complex data repositories
• web portals and specialist tools
• curation advice of data and metadata
• grid technologies for remote access, transfer and replication of data
• relational database management support
• data mining and analysis
• support for data workflows and pipelines linking to instruments or computational models
•  project tracking, auditing and performance advice

The facility manages a large mass data storage system which is an environment that supports many of these activities. Use of NCI is usually free to ANU researchers upon application for an account. Resources are allocated through NCMAS or its Partner Shares initiative.

For more information, please contact help@nci.org.au or visit the ANU Allocation Scheme web page. 

Australian Data Archives

Although not specifically an ANU service, the Australian Data Archive (ADA) has been an important service located on the ANU campus since the 1980s, and many ANU researchers choose to archive their data with the ADA.

Statistical Support Network

The Statistical Support Network is a research collaborative unit that specialises in statistical data in academic research across the University. They keep abreast of fast-evolving research methodologies and statistical software in a data-driven research environment, across a broad range of disciplines. They can provide advice on data management, exploratory data analysis, statistical modelling and data presentation. The website is https://services.anu.edu.au/business-units/dean-higher-degree-research/statistical-support-network