This Encyclopedia is a comprehensive guide to the nature and content of literature, as well as literary criticism. In ninety essays by leading international critics and scholars, the volume covers traditional topics such as literature and history, poetry, drama and the novel, as well as newer topics such as the production and reception of literature. Current critical ideas are clearly and provocatively discussed, while the volume's arrangement reflects in a dynamic way the rich diversity of contemporary thinking about literature. Each essay seeks to provide the reader with a clear sense of the full significance of its subject, as well as guidance on further reading. An essential work of reference, the Encyclopedia is a stimulating guide to the central preoccupations of contemporary critical thinking about literature.
Post-Colonial Literatures in English, together with English Literature and American Literature, form one of the three major groupings of literature in English, and, as such, are widely studied around the world. Their significance derives from the richness and variety of experience which they reflect. In three volumes, this Encyclopedia documents the history and development of this body of work, and includes original research relating to the literatures of some 50 countries and territories. In more than 1,600 entries written by more than 600 internationally recognized scholars, it explores the effect of the colonial and post-colonial experience on English literatures worldwide.
Started in 2015, the encyclopedia has quickly grown to host over 400 articles by renowned writers, critics, and scholars from all over the globe. The Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Literature aims to map, over time, the world's entire landscape of literary expressions and criticism, weaving together the various fields and approaches that make up literature in its broadest sense. Peer-reviewed and frequently updated, articles have the opportunity to feature a wide array of multimedia resources, including audio-visual materials, links to digital archives, and other pedagogical tools.