The Handbook of English Linguistics collects articles written by leading specialists on a diverse range of linguistics-related areas, providing a quality, up-to-date account of research in the field. It brings together articles from the core areas of English linguistics, including syntax, phonetics, phonology, morphology, as well as variation, discourse, stylistics and usage. Written by scholars from around the world, it includes a significant discussion of the most recent theoretical and descriptive research, as well as extensive bibliographic references.
A Handbook to Middle English Studies presents a series of original essays from leading literary scholars that explore the relationship between critical theory and late medieval literature. It includes 26 new essays concerning late medieval literature, and showcases the most current cutting-edge theoretical research.
The Handbook of the History of English is a collection of articles written by leading specialists in the field that focus on the theoretical issues behind the evolving beast that is the English language. An innovative publication, it applies recent insights to old problems, and surveys the history of English from the perspective of structural developments in areas such as phonology, prosody, morphology, syntax, semantics, language variation, and dialectology. It offers readers a comprehensive overview of the various theoretical perspectives available to the study of the history of English, and sets new objectives for further research.
The Handbook of World Englishes is a collection of newly commissioned articles focusing on selected critical dimensions and case studies of the theoretical, ideological, applied, and pedagogical issues related to English as it is spoken around the world. It represents a cross-cultural and international contextualization of the English language, and articulates the visions of scholars from within the major varieties of world Englishes, such as African, Asian, European, and North and South American. It discusses topics including the socio-linguistic contexts of varieties of English in the inner, outer, and expanding circles of its users; the ranges of functional domains in which these varieties are used; the place of English in language policies and language planning; and debates about English as a cause of language death, murder, and suicide.
The availability of large electronic corpora has caused major shifts in linguistic research, including the ability to analyze much more data than ever before, as well as to perform micro-analyses of linguistic structures across languages. This has led historical linguists to rethink many standard assumptions about language history, and methods and approaches that are relevant to the study of it. The field is now interested in, and attracts, specialists whose specialities range from statistical modeling to acoustic phonetics. These changes have even transformed linguists' perceptions of the very processes of language change, particularly in English, the most studied language in historical linguistics, due to the size of available data and its status as a global language. Setting a new standard of cross-disciplinary collaboration, it covers the field in an innovative way, providing diachronic accounts of major influences such as language contact, and typological processes which have shaped English and its varieties, as well as highlighting recent and ongoing developments of Englishes.
The Routledge Handbook of Contemporary English Pronunciation provides a comprehensive survey of both theoretical and practical perspectives on pronunciation. Contributed to by leading scholars from around the world, this Handbook examines: linguistic and historical background of sound systems and theoretical issues linked to sound changes; pronunciation acquisition and factors related to speech production; pronunciation research and applications to second language pronunciation; the link between pronunciation and other language skills including perception and other socio-cultural factors; pronunciation and its relation to World Englishes. The Handbook will be essential reading for anyone with an interest in pronunciation.