A library database is an online, searchable collection of published scholarly materials. The ANU Library currently subscribes to well over five hundred databases, containing many millions of indexed items. These include scholarly journal articles, newspapers and magazines, images, e-books, streaming audio-visual content, and other popular and academic publications.
The databases which appear below are just a small selection of those rich in content related to the study of the English language and literature. The Library's complete selection of databases can be access via our e-resources and databases page. Please note, the databases listed here are available to current ANU staff and students only, and a valid university ID number and password is required to enable off-campus remote access.
Literature Online is the leading online resource for the study and teaching of literature in English. It is a fully integrated service that combines the texts of over 355,000 literary works with a vast library of key criticism and reference resources. Literature Online’s collection of accurate poetry, prose and drama is relied upon by researchers around the world on a daily basis and the essential criticism and reference resources, including an ever-growing library of full-text journals and author biographies, helps keep you up to date on the latest research into every aspect of literary and linguistic study.
AustLit provides authoritative and comprehensive information on creative and critical Australian literature works relating to more than 100,000 Australian authors and literary organisations. The period spans from European settlement in Australia to the present. Some selected full text content is available.
A collection of over 220 Australian primary-source texts available in full text, including historical records from settlement to the early twentieth century and key works from leading Australian literary figures from the nineteenth and early twentieth century. Source documents include fiction, poetry, plays, reports and journals.
Informit Literature & Culture Collection provides access to a range of publications covering Australia’s literary and cultural heritage. The database includes a number of publications relevant to emerging and established writers to develop their craft and to engage with central ideas and debates around Australian literary, culture and social life.
A large collection of full-text works of prose, poetry and drama from the 8th century to the present, with a huge library of criticism and reference material, including thousands of literary articles, essays, biographies and links to authoritative websites.
A subject index of scholarly books, journal articles and websites on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics compiled by the Modern Language Association of America. More than sixty languages are represented in the index with coverage starting from 1926 onwards.
The New York Review began during the New York publishing strike of 1963, when its founding editors, Robert Silvers and Barbara Epstein, and their friends, decided to create a new kind of magazine—one in which the most interesting and qualified minds of our time would discuss current books and issues in depth. Just as importantly, it was determined that the Review should be an independent publication; it began life as an independent editorial voice and it remains independent today.
First published in 1902, the Times Literary Supplement is considered by many to be the definitive review of English literature and language issues. Containing essays, book extracts, reviews, poetry, and much more, the TLS is your weekly eye on the world of English, from authors and contributors around the globe.
A breadth of printed and manuscript sources over four centuries, providing a multitude of perspectives on the changing roles of women in history. This collection offers access to the works and legacy of many notable and influential women, but also a chance to hear the voices of forgotten and ordinary women. It includes papers and rare printed works of important female writers and thinkers; life writing and autobiographies of a range of 18th and 19th century women; the papers of Sylvia Pankhurst, suffragette, political activist and campaigner; diaries and correspondence of aristocratic women, giving insights into the social, political and cultural history of rich and powerful women of the 18th and 19th centuries; women's travel writing - manuscript and printed accounts of women travellers, missionaries, tourists and women living across the British Empire.