The print and electronic dictionaries listed here provide word meanings, etymologies, pronunciations, and usages in both standard modern (British) English, as well as our own local Australian and New Zealand dialects.
The Australian National Dictionary (AND) is a dictionary of Australianisms. It includes words and meanings that have originated in Australia, that have a greater currency here than elsewhere, or that have a special significance in Australian history. All entries from the first edition, which was published in 1988, have been thoroughly revised and updated, and 6000 new entries have been added. It now includes more than 16,000 Australian terms.
The ultimate guide to contemporary Australian English, this is a major revision of the most authoritative Australian Dictionary for all Australians. This flagship dictionary draws on the databases of Australian English at the Australian National Dictionary Centre - including its fast-growing national corpus and its research into Australian English, as well as the resources of the incomparable Oxford English Dictionary.
The Macquarie Dictionary was first published in print in 1981, and has been online since 2003. Since then its reputation has gone from strength to strength, and it is now nationally and internationally regarded as the standard reference on Australian English. The online edition gives you access to the most up-to-date database of Australian English, with annual updates of new words, along with its companion reference the Macquarie Thesaurus. The dictionary provides easy, comprehensive and interactive searching of over 138,000 headwords and phrases and over 210,000 definitions, with the ability to search either the dictionary, thesaurus or both annual updates of words, definitions and encyclopedic entries.
The New Zealand Oxford Dictionary is the first large-scale English dictionary especially prepared for New Zealand users. It has been compiled at the New Zealand Dictionary Centre in Wellington, and reflects both the New Zealand Dictionary Centre's research into New Zealand English and research into international English conducted by Oxford dictionary centres worldwide. The New Zealand Oxford Dictionary contains over 100,000 definitions, including over 12,000 New Zealand entries.
The bestselling Oxford Dictionary of Literary Terms provides clear and concise definitions of the most troublesome literary terms, from abjection to zeugma. It is an essential reference tool for students of literature in any language. Now expanded and in its fourth edition, it includes increased coverage of new terms from modern critical and theoretical movements, such as feminism, schools of American poetry, Spanish verse forms, life writing, and crime fiction.
The 20 volume Oxford English Dictionary is the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It traces the usage of words through 2.4 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources. Accompanying each definition is a chronologically arranged group of quotations that trace the usage of words, and show the contexts in which they can be used.