LibGuides: Epidemiology and population health: Indigenous resources in ANU Library Collections on Epidemiology and Population Health topics

ANU Graduate Attribute - Insight into Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples’ knowledges and Indigenous peoples’ perspectives (IP-GA)

Development of this content supports the ANU Graduate Attribute - Insight into Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples’ knowledges and Indigenous peoples’ perspectives (IP-GA). Content that explicitly explores Indigenous ways of knowing relevant to the discipline.

The ANU National Centre for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Wellbeing Research has earned national and international recognition for research excellence on Indigenous aspects of social and emotional wellbeing and racism, tobacco control, cancer and cardiovascular disease, as well as development of strength-based research methodologies, policies relating to data sovereignty, and culturally-relevant knowledge translation.

Indigenous resources in ANU LIbrary Collections on Epidemiology and Population Health topics can be explored from the boxes below.

Diseases affecting Indigenous Australians

Search the ANU Catalogue and SuperSearch with the following search terms to find books and articles and other resources on Indigenous topics in ANU Library Collections on diseases affectin Indigenous Australians;

(diabet* OR obesity OR alcohol* OR cardiovascular OR "kidney disease" OR "mental health" OR "heart disease" OR "eye diseases") AND (aborig* OR "australian aborig*" OR "aboriginal australian" OR "first nations" OR "australian indigenous" OR "indigenous australia* OR indigenous OR "first nations" OR "torres strait" OR "torres strait islander")

A select list of ebooks is in the box below and click here for the full search results for books and ebooks and for a selection of journal articles on the topic.

Whose risk? whose responsibility? : the Epidemiology of intervening in health risk behaviours for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander people by Wright, Alyson, Lovett, Ray, degree supervisor. et al
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2017
This thesis presents a collection of applied epidemiological studies and is primarily focused on health risk behaviours and preventive health programs. The studies included: - a cross-sectional analysis of data from two national Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders surveys. The study examined estimates of smoking prevalence by Indigenous Regions.
Cultural Safety in Trauma-Informed Practice from a First Nations Perspective by Nicole Tujague; Kelleigh Ryan
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2023
This book provides an accessible resource for conducting culturally safe and trauma-informed practice with First Nations' peoples in Australia. Designed by and for Australian Indigenous peoples,
Learning from 50 Years of Aboriginal Alcohol Programs by Peter d'Abbs; Nicole Hewlett
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2023
This open access book deals with community-based attempts on the part of Aboriginal communities and groups in Australia to address harms arising from alcohol misuse.
Mob and country : a role for identity in alcohol screening for Indigenous Australians living in the ACT and region by Lovett, Raymond William
Call Number: Menzies Thesis ; 2519024
Publication Date: 2013
Risky alcohol consumption is responsible for seven per cent of all Indigenous deaths in Australia and is a precursor to many diseases. Despite high rates of risky consumption, screening is not routine practice in primary health care and the validity of screening instruments (other than the Indigenous Risk Impact Screen) have not been performed for Indigenous peoples.
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples' healthcare by Brett Biles; Jessica Biles
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2019
Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Peoples' Health prepares nursing and allied health students for health care practice among Indigenous Australian communities and encourages best clinical practice and skill development.

Genetics

Search the ANU Catalogue and SuperSearch with the following search terms to find books and articles and other resources on Indigenous topics in ANU Library Collections on genetics;

("genetics OR genom* OR DNA) AND (aborig* OR "australian aborig*" OR "aboriginal australian" OR "first nations" OR "australian indigenous" OR "indigenous australia* OR indigenous OR "first nations" OR "torres strait" OR "torres strait islander")

A select list of ebooks is in the box below and click here for the full search results for books and ebooks and for a selection of journal articles on the topic.

Haunting Biology by Emma Kowal
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2023
In Haunting Biology Emma Kowal recounts the troubled history of Western biological studies of Indigenous Australians and asks how we now might see contemporary genomics, especially that conducted by Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander scientists. Kowal illustrates how the material persistence of samples over decades and centuries folds together the fates of different scientific methodologies.
Nucleotide sequence diversity of HLA class II genes in Australian aborigines and populations of Asia-Oceania by Gao, Xiaojiang
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 1992
The aim of this thesis was to investigate nucleotide sequence diversity of HLA class II genes in Australian Aborigines and indigenous peoples of Asia-Oceania. Nineteen study populations represented eight major ethnic groups including Australian Aborigines, Papua New Guinean highlanders, coastal Melanesians, Polynesians, Micronesians, Javanese, southern and northern Chinese, and a minority group from northwestern China.
Ancestral DNA, Human Origins, and Migrations by Rene J. Herrera; Ralph Garcia-Bertrand
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2018
Ancestral DNA, Human Origins, and Migrations describes the genesis of humans in Africa and the subsequent story of how our species migrated to every corner of the globe.

Primary Health Care

Search the ANU Catalogue and SuperSearch with the following search terms to find books and articles and other resources on Indigenous topics in ANU Library Collections on primary health care;

"primary health care" AND (aborig* OR "australian aborig*" OR "aboriginal australian" OR "first nations" OR "australian indigenous" OR "indigenous australia* OR indigenous OR "first nations" OR "torres strait" OR "torres strait islander")

A select list of ebooks is in the box below and click here for the full search results for books and ebooks and for a sele ction of journal articles on the topic.

Aboriginal primary health care : an evidence-based approach by Couzos, Sophia. Murray, Richard B. et al
Call Number: Hancock RA563.A7 A26 2008
Publication Date: 2008
A comprehensive treatment of primary health care issues affecting Aboriginal people in Australia. The book aims to assist those working in the field of Aboriginal health to understand the evidence base behind primary care interventions. Recommendations for ways of implementing various measures are discussed.
Health Care and Indigenous Australians: Cultural safety in practice by Kerry Taylor, Pauline Thompson Guerin
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2019
Now in its third edition, this core textbook offers a comprehensive framework for creating a culturally safe environment and enhancing health outcomes for Indigenous Australians. Through case studies, discussions, reflections and critiques of health issues in Australia today, Health Care and Indigenous Australians offers a starting point for learning about cultural safety in an Indigenous health context, and is essential for students, academics and practitioners alike.
Indigenous Australians and Health by Ronald Hampton; Maree Toombs
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2013
Indigenous Australians and Health assists the student reader, through simple and practical strategies, to appreciate and understand the importance of 'Getting it right', when working with Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Australians in urban and remote areas.

Midwifery

Search the ANU Catalogue and SuperSearch with the following search terms to find books and articles and other resources on Indigenous topics in ANU Library Collections on Midwifery;

(aborig* OR "australian aborig*" or "aboriginal australian" OR "first nations" OR "australian indigenous" OR "indigenous australia* OR indigenous OR "first nations" OR "torres strait" OR "torres strait islander") AND (midwifery OR midwives OR pregnancy OR neonatal OR "child birth" OR "traditional birth attendant*" OR "gestational diabetes")

A select list of ebooks is in the box below and click here for the full search results for books and ebooks and for a selection of journal articles on the topic.

Yatdjuligin by Odette Best (Editor); Bronwyn Fredericks (Editor)
Call Number: Hancock 2 day RA563.A26 Y38 2018
Publication Date: 2017
Yatdjuligin: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Nursing and Midwifery Care introduces students to the fundamentals of the health care of Indigenous Australians from the perspectives of both the patient and the professional.
Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander People's Health by Brett Biles; Jessica Biles
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2019
Aboriginal & Torres Strait Islander Peoples' Health prepares nursing and allied health students for health care practice among Indigenous Australian communities and encourages best clinical practice and skill development. With its focus on cultural competence, community and cultural safety.
Burda-burda Balayi health professionals and Indigenous health : working at the interface by Edmondson, Wendy, editor.; Williams, Robyn, (Nursing educator), editor.
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2022
This book critically examines dominant Western health frameworks that essentialises Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures and health. By providing historical and social context and covering issues affecting public health policy and primary health practice, it aims to diminish conscious bias and racism.
Yatdjuligin: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Nursing and Midwifery Care by Odette Best (Editor); Bronwyn Fredericks (Editor)
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2021
Yatdjuligin: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Nursing and Midwifery Care introduces students to the fundamentals of health care of Indigenous Australians, encompassing the perspectives of both the client and the health practitioner. Written for all nurses and midwives, this book addresses the relationship between Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander cultures and mainstream health services,