A comprehensive and authoritative guide to the rapidly evolving area of systematic reviews and meta-analysis. This is a useful resource for practitioners, students, and instructors in the health sciences needing to understand research synthesis.

This book provides answers to systematic review-related questions, including: How do I formulate an appropriate review question? How do I develop my search strategy? How do I get started with data extraction? How do I assess the quality of a study? How can I analyse and synthesize my data? How should I write up the discussion and conclusion sections of my dissertation or thesis?

Written by clinicians, this book will help readers in developing skills for using systematic reviews and meta-analyses as the best source of evidence for guiding clinical practice and research.

Accessible, practical, and student-friendly, Systematic Reviews to Answer Health Care Questions, Second Edition, by Dr. Heidi D. Nelson, uses easy-to-understand, step-by-step instruction and real-world examples to illustrate important concepts and principles of today's systematic reviews.

This book is written for review authors, editors, and trainers with an interest in understanding the role of systematic reviews, critically appraising health research studies and conducting Cochrane reviews. It contains material on systematic review methods and the set of Cochrane review standards

This first edition of the Handbook contains guidance on understanding test accuracy measures, search strategies and study selection, understanding meta-analysis and risk of bias and applicability assessments, presentation of findings, and drawing conclusions.

This book will help students formulate a strategy for making clear decisions about what to include and not include in their literature reviews, avoid getting overwhelmed by the volume of available research, and will provide the steps that are needed to produce a reliable and unbiased summary of the existing research.

This book presents a dynamic and practical method in which engineering students--typically late-career undergraduates or graduate students--can learn to write literature reviews, and translate genre-based writing instruction into easy-to-follow, bite-sized activities and content.

This text provides a roadmap for producing a high-quality literature review--an integral part of a successful thesis, dissertation, or term paper. Each step of searching for, evaluating, analyzing, and synthesizing prior studies is explained and accompanied by user-friendly suggestions, organizational tips, and examples of student work.

This book, now in its fifth edition, is a step-by-step guide to doing a literature review for students in all areas of health and social care. It is essential reading for all those doing their undergraduate dissertation or any study that involves doing a literature review. The new edition maintains its signature 'can do' approach and provides a practical guide to doing a literature review from start to finish.

This book explores the process of research design, and how to develop a research practice that will build skills in reading and writing about research literature.

The Institute of Medicine (IOM) recommends 21 standards for developing high-quality systematic reviews of comparative effectiveness research. These address the systematic review process from formulating the topic and building the review team to producing a detailed final report.

This textbook provides an introduction to the principles and methods of epidemiology. The second edition has a particular emphasis on modifiable environmental factors and encourages the application of epidemiology to the prevention of disease and the promotion of health, including environmental and occupational health.

The sixth edition of the Epidemiology, Evidence-based Medicine and Public Health Lecture Notes equips students and health professionals with the basic tools required to learn, practice and teach epidemiology and health prevention in a contemporary setting.

This bestselling text provides a solid introduction to basic epidemiologic principles as well as practical applications in public health and clinical practice, highlighted by real-world examples throughout.

Emery's Elements of Medical Genetics and Genomics offers current, complete information with a strong basis in practical clinical genetics and genomics for medical school and beyond. The 16th edition of this award-winning text has been thoroughly updated throughout and includes case-based and multiple-choice questions, end-of-chapter summaries and an extensive glossary.

Thompson & Thompson's Genetics and Genomics in Medicine integrates the classic principles of human genetics with modern molecular genetics, this medical reference book utilises a variety of learning tools to help you understand a wide range of genetic disorders.

Australia's Rural, Remote and Indigenous Health 3e is a practical guide to the delivery of health care in rural and remote Australia. Drawing on personal experiences of rural practitioners, historical accounts, literature analysis and epidemiology, it discusses the economic, social and political forces that shape healthcare in rural and remote Australia.