LibGuides: Epidemiology and population health: Databases

Databases for epidemiology and population health

Digital Literacy Handout for MAE Databases Sem 1 2024 (PDF, 4.0MB)
This PDF opens in a new window.
Digital Literacy Handout for HLTH1002 Sem 2 2024 (PDF, 3.4MB)
This PDF opens in a new window.
Digital Literacy Handout for POPH8315 Databases Sem 1 2023 (PDF, 3.5MB)
This PDF opens in a new window.

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Customised to access ANU subscribed full-text from the abstract level in the database via the Find it at ANU button.

Tutorial

Scopus
Scopus is a curated abstract and citation database of scholarly literature across 240 disciplines, covering documents dating back to 1788, cited references from 1970 onward, author profiles, books, publishers and institutional profiles.

Tutorial

UpToDate
UpToDate provides specific recommendations for clinicians in an easy-to-use format. It is comprised of thousands of clinical topics across 25 specialties, written by a recognised faculty of experts who each address a specific clinical issue and provide detailed recommendations. UpToDate resources cover internal medicine and subspecialties, obstetrics and gynecology, family medicine and paediatrics, plus a drug database and medical calculators.

Please note, UpToDate is available to ANU staff and students on the ANU campus, and via remote access for ANU students.
To use UpToDate off-campus and via the mobile app, you must create your own user name and password
https://anulib.anu.edu.au/find-access/e-resources-databases/uptodate

Tutorial

Medline (via OVID)
Published by the U.S. National Library of Medicine and updated daily, MEDLINE on the Ovid platform offers access to the latest bibliographic citations and author abstracts from biomedicine and life sciences journals in nearly 40 languages (60 languages for older journals). English abstracts are included in more than 80% of the records. Coverage dates back to 1946.

Licence covers 5 simultaneous users.

Tutorial

Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of resources to inform healthcare decision-making. Databases include:
>Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - the resource for systematic reviews in health care
>Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials - bibliographic details and abstracts of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials
>Cochrane Clinical Answers - containing clinical questions, short answers, and data for the outcomes from the Cochrane Review
>Special Collections - curated content collections on a specific healthcare topic
Therapeutic Guidelines
Therapeutic Guidelines are written principally for prescribers to provide clear, practical, succinct and up-to-date therapeutic information for a range of diseases. They are based on the latest international literature, interpreted by some of Australia’s most eminent and respected experts, with input from an extensive network of general practitioners and other users. Therapeutic Guidelines represent the essence of current available evidence.

Therapeutic Guidelines is available via an app, which can be accessed by consulting
https://www.tg.org.au/faq/#Accessing-the-Therapeutic-Guidelines-app

Therapeutic Guidelines FAQ Therapeutic Guidelines App

ProQuest
A multidisciplinary database which provides access to 37 ProQuest databases, with a variety of content across more than 160 subjects including business, science and technology, health and medical, social science, arts and humanities, and international news. Contents include abstract, index, and full text articles.
ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey gives physicians clinically-relevant answers from Elsevier’s proprietary medical and surgical content. ClinicalKey was built to meet physician requirements that a clinical reference be comprehensive, trusted and fast. ClinicalKey ebooks now include Medical Education Essentials Collection titles.

ClinicalKey e-books and resources can be accessed from off-campus by following the remote access instructions here: https://library-admin.anu.edu.au/_resources/e-resources/clinicalkey-remote-access.pdf

ClinicalKey is available as an app, which can be accessed by following the registration and login instructions here: https://library-admin.anu.edu.au/_resources/e-resources/Installing-and-using-clinicalkey-app.pdf

Mobile App Registering for a Personal Account and Remote Access

ClinicalKey Toolkits 2024
ClinicalKey ANZ Toolkits are designed to share with you the latest content from Clinicalkey and ClinicalKey for Nursing including Key Facts you can use in social media posts and related links to the latest journal articles, books, clinical overviews and more.

ClinicalKey Student
ClinicalKey Student is an interactive education platform that supports students and faculty by enhancing the learning experience with tools tailored to develop and assess the medical knowledge of aspiring professionals. You can use the same account you created for ClinicalKey to access ClinicalKey Student.

What are databases?

A library database is an online collection of scholarly resources.

Databases don't hold the resources, but provide the information needed to find it including the author, title, source, publication date, and often an abstract. Many databases have links to the full-text.

Databases can be interdisciplinary (covering several topics), or subject specific (focusing on one particular discipline).

The ANU Library subscribes to over 720 scholarly databases, containing many millions of searchable items including scholarly journal articles; newspaper articles; images; streaming videos; music; and other academic publications.

Searching databases can be a great way to find reliable, peer-reviewed scholarly sources for your research and assessments.

You can see the full range of databases on the Library's e-resources and databases page.