LibGuides: Epidemiology and population health: Evidence Based Practice resources

Databases

Selected databases for systematic reviews, trials, case studies and other evidence.

Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain different types of resources to inform healthcare decision-making. Databases include:
>Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews - the resource for systematic reviews in health care
>Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials - bibliographic details and abstracts of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials
>Cochrane Clinical Answers - containing clinical questions, short answers, and data for the outcomes from the Cochrane Review
>Special Collections - curated content collections on a specific healthcare topic
Covidence
Covidence is web-based software that assists researchers to screen references and undertake data extraction.Covidence requires a special registration and login procedure. https://anulib.anu.edu.au/find-access/e-resources-databases/covidence

New from Covidence - Resource Hub This page will provide expert tips, guides to help on your review, and case studies.

Medline (via OVID)
Published by the U.S. National Library of Medicine and updated daily, MEDLINE on the Ovid platform offers access to the latest bibliographic citations and author abstracts from biomedicine and life sciences journals in nearly 40 languages (60 languages for older journals). English abstracts are included in more than 80% of the records. Coverage dates back to 1946.

Licence covers 5 simultaneous users.
PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Customised to access ANU subscribed full-text from the abstract level in the database via the Find it at ANU button.
UpToDate
UpToDate provides specific recommendations for clinicians in an easy-to-use format. It is comprised of thousands of clinical topics across 25 specialties, written by a recognised faculty of experts who each address a specific clinical issue and provide detailed recommendations. UpToDate resources cover internal medicine and subspecialties, obstetrics and gynecology, family medicine and paediatrics, plus a drug database and medical calculators.

Please note, UpToDate is available to ANU staff and students on the ANU campus, and via remote access for ANU students.
To use UpToDate off-campus and via the mobile app, you must create your own user name and password
https://anulib.anu.edu.au/find-access/e-resources-databases/uptodate

Journals

Evidence-based Mental Health
Evidence-Based Mental Health systematically searches a wide range of international medical journals applying strict criteria for the validity of research and relevance to psychiatrists and psychologists. Content is critically appraised then the most clinically relevant articles are summarised into a succinct expert commentary focusing on the papers key findings and implications for clinical practice.
Core Evidence
Core Evidence evaluates the evidence underlying the potential place in therapy of drugs throughout their development lifecycle from preclinical to postlaunch.
Evidence-Based Complementary and Alternative Medicine
Evidence-Based Complementary and Alternative Medicine is an international peer-reviewed, open access journal that seeks to understand the sources and to encourage rigorous research in complementary and alternative medicine