LibGuides: Systematic Reviews in the Sciences: Protocols

What is a protocol?

A protocol is a description of how you plan to carry out your proposed review. The purpose of a protocol is to ensure that the methodology you use to undertake your review is clear and transparent and allows the reader to identify how any findings were arrived at.

A protocol should include:

the rationale for the review
the research question
PICO (or other) framework
inclusion and exclusion criteria
where you will search. Which databases? Grey literature? Hand searching?
search strategy
how you plan to screen the results of your search
how you plan to extract and manage the data
how you plan to assess bias
how you plan to analyse the data

Your protocol should be developed before you begin your review and used as a guide during the review process.

Where to find help with writing your protocol - handbooks/manuals and reporting guidelines

The following handbooks and manuals provide practical methodological guidance for undertaking a systematic review. They contain detailed steps on how to plan, conduct, organise, and present your review. Use these resources if you have any questions about the best practices for any of the steps in the process.

The following reporting guidelines aid in the transparent and accurate reporting of the steps you performed when conducting your review.

Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions
The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions is the official guide that describes in detail the process of preparing and maintaining Cochrane systematic reviews on the effects of healthcare interventions. The Handbook includes guidance on the standard methods applicable to every review (planning a review, searching and selecting studies, data collection, risk of bias assessment, statistical analysis, GRADE and interpreting results), as well as more specialised topics (non-randomised studies, adverse effects, complex interventions, equity, economics, patient-reported outcomes, individual patient data, prospective meta-analysis, and qualitative research).
Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Diagnostic Test Accuracy
The Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Diagnostic Test Accuracy is the official guide that describes in detail the process of preparing and maintaining systematic reviews of test accuracy for Cochrane. It is a guide for those conducting systematic reviews of test accuracy and a reference for more experienced authors. The Handbook is updated regularly to reflect advances in systematic review methodology and in response to feedback from users.
JBI Manual for Evidence Synthesis
This manual guides authors who wish to conduct systematic and scoping reviews following JBI methodologies. Each chapter is devoted to the synthesis of different types of evidence to address different types of clinical and policy-related questions.
PRISMA - Preferred Reporting Items for Systematic Reviews and Meta-Analyses
PRISMA is an evidence-based minimum set of items for reporting in systematic reviews and meta-analyses. PRISMA focuses on the reporting of reviews evaluating randomised trials, but can also be used as a basis for reporting systematic reviews of other types of research, particularly evaluations of interventions.
PRISMA for Scoping Reviews (PRISMA-ScR)
The PRISMA extension for scoping reviews contains 20 essential reporting items and 2 optional items to include when completing a scoping review. Scoping reviews serve to synthesise evidence and assess the scope of literature on a topic. Among other objectives, scoping reviews help determine whether a systematic review of the literature is warranted.

Where to register your review protocol

Registering your protocol is an important aspect of conducting a systematic review as it helps prevent duplication of research by identifying if there are already reviews underway addressing the same question, reduces bias by identifying that the design and methodology of the research was planned rather than being shaped by the data as they emerged, and increases the overall transparency of the research.

Registering a systematic review involves publishing details (the protocol) related to the project prior to its commencement. Anyone can register a protocol, and where you choose to do so will depend on the type of systematic review you are doing.

Sahni, V., 2023, February 17. 'Registering Protocols of Systematic Reviews', Cochrane Community Blog [Blog]. https://community.cochrane.org/news/early-career-professionals-network-registering-protocols-systematic-reviews

The following is a list of review registries:

Cochrane
Cochrane publishes and disseminates systematic reviews of health care interventions. In order to publish your review with Cochrane, you will need to register your protocol with them.
JBI
JBI is an organisation promoting and supporting evidence-based decisions that improve health and health service delivery. In order to register your protocol you will need a collaborator from JBI affiliated institution.
PROSPERO
PROSPERO is an international database of prospectively registered systematic reviews in health and social care, welfare, public health, education, crime, justice, and international development, where there is a health related outcome.