LibGuides: Systematic Reviews in the Sciences: Grey literature sources

Open source

Analysis and Policy Observatory - Digital Repository
(APO) has a searchable digital repository with a unique collection of grey literature on any public policy issue – covering Australia, New Zealand and beyond. Their resources are sourced from a wide range of organisations involved in policy such as government, agencies, regulators, research institutes, non-for-profits and think tanks.

BASE - Bielefeld Academic Search Engine
BASE is one of the world's most voluminous search engines especially for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 150 million documents, about 60% of the indexed documents are available open access for free. BASE is operated by Bielefeld University Library.
Mednar
Mednar is a free, medically-focused deep web search engine that searches authoritative public and internet resources. A Mednar search occurs in real-time, retrieving relevant medical information for your research.

OpenMD
OpenMD is a medical reference service that makes medical information accessible to everyone. OpenMD.com searches billions of documents from government agencies, global health organisations, medical journals, and reference sites.
Research Data Australia
Research Data Australia is the data discovery service of the Australian Research Data Commons (ARDC). The ARDC is supported by the Australian Government through the National Collaborative Research Infrastructure Strategy Program.
Research Data Australia helps you find, access, and reuse data for research from over one hundred Australian research organisations, government agencies, and cultural institutions
WHO - Institutional Repository for Information Sharing (IRIS)
IRIS is the digital library of WHO's published material and technical information in full text produced since 1948. Its content is freely accessible and searchable in the six official languages (Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian & Spanish)
WorldWideScience.org
WorldWideScience.org is a global science gateway comprised of national and international scientific databases and portals. WorldWideScience.org accelerates scientific discovery and progress by providing one-stop searching of databases from around the world.

Australian government sources

ABS - Australian Bureau of Statistics
Australia's national statistical agency providing official statistics on a wide range of economic, social, population and environmental matters.
AIHW - Australian Institute of Health and Welfare
The AIHW is an independent statutory Australian Government agency, aiming to provide stronger evidence (data and information) for better decisions and improved health and welfare.
Australian Government Web Archives
Australian Government Web Archives is a collection of Australian Commonwealth Government websites maintained by the National Library.
PANDORA
Australia's Web Archive, is a growing collection of Australian online publications, established initially by the National Library of Australia in 1996, and now built in collaboration with nine other Australian libraries and cultural collecting organisations.
Trove
Australia's free online research portal. Trove is a collaboration between the National Library of Australia and hundreds of Partner organisations around Australia.

Clinical trials

Australian New Zealand Clinical Trials Registry
The ANZCTR is an online registry of clinical trials being undertaken in Australia, New Zealand and elsewhere.
Brazilian Registry of Clinical Trials (ReBEC)
Chinese Clinical Trial Registry (ChiCTR)
ClinicalTrials.gov
ClinicalTrials.gov is a US National Library of Medicine database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world.
Clinical Trials Registry - India (CTRI)
The Clinical Trials Registry- India (CTRI), hosted at the ICMR's National Institute of Medical Statistics (https://icmr-nims.nic.in), is a free and online public record system for registration of clinical trials being conducted in India launched in July 2007.
Cochrane - Trials
The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL) is a highly concentrated source of reports of randomized and quasi-randomized controlled trials. In addition to bibliographic details (author, title, source, year, etc) CENTRAL records often include an abstract (a summary of the article). They do not contain the full text of the article. CENTRAL is published monthly.
European Union Clinical Trials Register
The European Union Clinical Trials Register allows searches for protocol and results information on:
- interventional clinical trials that were approved in the European Union (EU)/European Economic Area (EEA) under the Clinical Trials Directive 2001/20/EC
- clinical trials conducted outside the EU/EEA that are linked to European paediatric-medicine development.
ISRCTN registry
The ISRCTN registry is a primary clinical trial registry recognised by WHO and ICMJE that accepts all clinical research studies (whether proposed, ongoing or completed), providing content validation and curation and the unique identification number necessary for publication.
The ISRCTN registry has a strategic objective to include all UK clinical studies. All study records in the database are freely accessible and searchable.
Pan African Clinical Trials Registry (PACTR)
The Pan African Clinical Trials Registry (PACTR) is a regional register of clinical trials conducted in Africa. It provides an open-access platform where clinical trials can be registered free of charge. The PACTR aims to increase clinical trial registration in Africa by developing awareness of the need to register trials and supporting trialists during registration.

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Customised to access ANU subscribed full-text from the abstract level in the database via the Find it at ANU button.

WHO - International Clinical Trials Registry Platform (ICTRP)
The mission of the WHO International Clinical Trials Registry Platform is to ensure that a complete view of research is accessible to all those involved in health care decision making, to improve research transparency and will ultimately strengthen the validity and value of the scientific evidence base.

Dissertations & theses

ANU Open Research - Theses
The Australian National University Library’s theses collection holds the digitised research output of the University’s academic community over the last 60 years.
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD)
OATD.org aims to be the best possible resource for finding open access graduate theses and dissertations published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 1100 colleges, universities, and research institutions.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses
This database is the digital multidisciplinary archive for the Library of Congress, and includes 2.7 million citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day together with 1.2 million full text dissertations. Bibliographic citations are available for dissertations dating from 1637.

Preprints

A preprint is a full draft research paper that is shared publicly before it has been peer reviewed. Most preprints are given a digital object identifier (DOI) so they can be cited in other research papers.

arXiv
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for nearly 2.4 million scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials are not peer-reviewed.

bioRxiv
bioRxiv (pronounced "bio-archive") provides a free online search of unpublished preprints in the life sciences. Preprints are preliminary reports of work that have not undergone peer review.

ChemRxiv
ChemRxiv (pronounced 'chem-archive') is a free submission, distribution, and archive service for unpublished preprints in chemistry and related areas. Preprints are preliminary reports of work that have not undergone peer review.

medRxiv
medRxiv (pronounced "med-archive") is a free online search of complete but unpublished manuscripts in the medical, clinical, and health sciences. Preprints are preliminary reports of work that have not undergone peer review.

Conferences & proceedings

Conference proceedings can be searched in databases using filters, field codes or other means, depending on the database.

ACM Digital Library
This collection of full text articles and bibliographic records covers the fields of computing and information technology. It includes the complete collection of ACM's publications including journals, conference proceedings, magazines, newsletters, and multimedia titles. It is also integrated with the Guide to Computing Literature bibliography.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library
IEEE Xplore is a resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. It provides access to journals, conference proceedings, technical standards and other documents in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.
Scopus
Scopus is a curated abstract and citation database of scholarly literature across 240 disciplines, covering documents dating back to 1788, cited references from 1970 onward, author profiles, books, publishers and institutional profiles.
SPIE Digital Library
The SPIE Digital Library is the world's largest collection of optics and photonics applied research. With more than 550,000 papers spanning biomedicine, communications, sensors, defense and security, manufacturing, electronics, energy, and imaging, the SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive research database available on optics and photonics research.
Web of Science
This database has bibliographic records with abstracts for about 70% of the science citations and 60% of the social sciences citations. Contains Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-; Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-; and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975. It allows the identification of key articles in a discipline and to search by cited reference that is to trace references that refer to a particular work or author.