LibGuides: Vietnamese Studies: Archives

Southeast Asia Archives at the Australian National University

U.S. relations and policies in Southeast Asia, 1944-1958 This link opens in a new window
This collection identifies the key issues, individuals, and events in the history of US-Southeast Asia relations between 1944 and 1958, placing them in context of the complex and dynamic regional strategic, political, and economic processes.

Digital Vietnam Archive

Professor David George Marr' s collection
ANU Archives have digitised Professor David Marr’s unique collection of posters, other graphic material related to Vietnam and the Indochina conflict and material from the September 1967 South Vietnamese election from David Marr’s papers.
more...less...
These posters, calendars and artworks were collected over the course of David Marr’s career. There are a mix of prints and originals from the 1930s to the mid 1990s. They largely focus on the Indochina Wars - particularly the Vietnam War - and the politics of Vietnam during that time. The series also includes art and folk art not specifically related to these topics as well as material focusing on Laos, Cambodia and other regions.

The perspectives of the material is mixed, work coming from North and South Vietnam, Europe (mostly France and Russia), Australia and The United States. The series contains examples of propaganda, fine art, children’s art, promotional material for private, not-for-profit and academic organisations and events, educational material, work related to charity and foreign-aid and material discussing war crimes. Some material in this collection contains accounts of torture and images of injuries.

Emeritus Professor Marr is a specialist in Vietnamese history, politics and culture. He served in the US Marine Corps between 1959 and 1964. He taught at Berkeley and Cornell, and headed the Indochina Resource Center in Washington, before coming to the ANU in 1975. He served as editor of Vietnam Today for the Australia-Vietnam Society 1978-1982. He was involved in projects relating to Vietnamese material library cataloguing and coding Vietnamese script in computers. Significant publications include 'Vietnamese Tradition on Trial, 1920-1945', and 'Vietnam: State, War, and Revolution (1945–1946)'.

A full description and listing is on the ANU Archives database at: http://archivescollection.anu.edu.au/index.php/posters-from-the-vietnam-war
The Virtual Vietnam Archive - Texas Tech University
Containing 7 million pages of scanned materials such as documents, photographs, slides, negatives, oral histories, artifacts, moving images, sound recordings, maps, and collection finding aids. All non-copyrighted and digitized materials are available for users to download.
WGBH Vietnam War Digital Collection
The Vietnam Collection - Vietnam: A Television History was a landmark documentary series produced by WGBH. This collection contains most of the materials gathered and created for the 1983 series, as well as additional Vietnam-related materials from the WGBH archive. Vietnam: A Television History was one of the last WGBH series produced entirely on film. Starting in 2008, materials were reconstructed, transferred, and digitized for preservation and access.