Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only] & MENZIES DS557.5 .A54 2002
Publication Date: 2002
This book provides an overview of contested issues and interpretations in Vietnam scholarship, a mini-encyclopedia and chronology of key events, annotated guides to resources (including films, documentaries, and websites), and excerpts from historical documents and statistical data.
This historical dictionary includes hundreds of entries on significant persons (military and political), places, events, armed units, battles and lesser engagements, and weapons. And for those seeking further information, an extensive bibliography is included.
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2006
"The A to Z of Vietnam" focuses on the recent changes and leadership of Vietnam while giving due attention to the earlier kingdoms, the period of French Indochina, the wars for liberation, the Vietnam War, and much more. Hundreds of cross-referenced A to Z dictionary entries are included on political, economic, social and cultural aspects as well as the major cities and geographic features. This book also contains a chronology and introduction that traces Vietnam's history, as well as a bibliography.
This encyclopedia contains three types of articles: brief, dictionary-like entries for easy reference to personalities and military units; longer articles on major figures; and extended essays that describe and interpret major themes including The Land and the People of Vietnam.
Call Number: MENZIES large book DS557.7 .E53 1998 (v.1-v.3)
Publication Date: 1998
The largest and most comprehensive study to date of one of the longest and most divisive conflicts in U.S. history. Over 900 A-Z entries with extensive cross references after each entry. Biographies of key Vietnamese and American participants. 200 primary source documents. 150 illustrations and 22 maps.