The Southeast Asia Institute is the flagship for The Australian National University’s outstanding range of expertise on the politics, languages, society, economics and cultures of the region to Australia’s northwest. The Institute brings together the research, teaching and outreach talents of the academics and students of ANU. It creates opportunities for collaboration and provides a point of contact between the university community and the wider world.
East Asia Forum is a platform for analysis and research on politics, economics, business, law, security, international relations and society relevant to public policy, centred on the Asia Pacific region. It consists of an online publication and magazine, the East Asia Forum Quarterly, which aim to provide clear and original analysis from the leading minds in the region and beyond.
Based out of the Crawford School of Public Policy at ANU, the Forum is a joint initiative of two academic research networks: the East Asian Bureau of Economic Research (EABER) and the South Asian Bureau of Economic Research (SABER).
NLA maintains a collection of Vietnamese language materials consisting of publications from Vietnam and Australian publications in the Vietnamese language. It has over 4,000 volumes of monographs, and 200 serial titles, including 10 currently received newspaper titles. NLA has a large collection of English language works relating to Vietnam and the Vietnamese people. Microfilm and microfiche collections add to the depth of the Library's resources on Vietnam and Indochina.
The NLA Vietnamese Collection is focused on contemporary material with particular emphasis on the areas of government and politics, modern history, the social sciences, statistics and law. A variety of materials on Vietnamese culture is also acquired. Publications are predominantly in Vietnamese, English, and French.
Provides educators, students, scholars and general public with a wide variety of materials published or otherwise produced in Southeast Asia. Drawn largely from the collections of universities and individual scholars in this region, the SEADL contains digital facsimiles of books and manuscripts, as well as multimedia materials and searchable indexes of additional Southeast Asian resources. Nations represented in the collection include Brunei, Cambodia, East Timor, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.
A collection of European travel accounts of pre-modern Southeast Asia from Cornell University Library's John M. Echols Collection. The site provides online access to more than 350 books written in English and French.