LibGuides: Vietnamese Studies: Audio-visual resources

What are audio-visual resources?

The ANU Library provides access to a range of audio-visual (AV) materials, including videos, images, audio, maps, music scores, and more.

You can search the Catalogue for any physical audio-visual resources that may be relevant to your research.

After typing in your search terms you can refine your results to the audio-visual format you are after.

Audio-visual

Ethnographic Video Online
A comprehensive audio-visual encyclopaedia of human behaviour and culture which includes material from every continent. Thematic areas include language and culture, body language, cooking, family structures, music and the arts, gender, and more. It contains classic and contemporary documentaries, previously unpublished footage, and selected feature films.

Music from North and South Vietnam [electronic resource] : sung poetry of the North/theatre Music of the South (online streaming)
Includes music sung in Vietnamese; Vietnamese song texts with English translations; and English notes. Contents include Cai Luong Theater Music of South Vietnam: Ca Ra Bo (scene). Modern Tu Ogi Ogn (sung). Tune for Vong Co (tranh). Later Elaboration on Vong Co (tranh). Old Vong Co (sung). New Vong Co (sung). Scene from Modern Cai Luong -- Hat a Dao, the Sung Poetry of North Vietnam: Ba'c Phan. Ty-ba (four versions). Hoi Phong-Da.
Music of Viet Nam (online streaming)
Includes pre-Vietnamese music: Tribal music of the highland people -- Survey musical of Cham people. Traditional music: Ancient imperial music -- Chambre music. Folk songs: Ancient folk songs.

Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new window
A database of music recordings from around the world, drawn primarily from the archives of Smithsonian Folkways Recordings and the archival audio collections of Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. Coverage includes American folk, blues, bluegrass, country, world, jazz, classical, Broadway, spoken word, sounds and children’s recordings.

Vietnamese Feature Films

Born on the Fourth of July by Universal Pictures ; an A. Kitman Ho & Ixtlan production ; produced by A. Kitman Ho & Oliver Stone ; directed by Oliver Stone
Call Number: CHIFLEY PN1997.B672 2010 DVD
Publication Date: 2010
Based on a true story, the film follows Kovic from a zealous teen who volunteers for the Vietnam War, to an embittered veteran paralysed from the mid-chest down. Deeply in love with his country, Kovic returned to an environment vastly different from the one he left, and struggled before emerging as a brave new voice for the disenchanted.
Platoon by an Orion Pictures release ; Hemdale Film Corporation presents an Arnold Kopelson production of an Oliver Stone film ; produced by Arnold Kopelson ; written and directed by Oliver Stone
Call Number: CHIFLEY PN1997.P542 2011 DVD
Publication Date: 2011
A grunt's view of the Vietnam War is provided in all its horrific, inexplicable detail. Follows young Chris Taylor who arrives in Vietnam and quickly discovers that his worst enemies are not just the Viet Cong, but gnawing fear, physical exhaustion, and the anger growing within himself.
Xich lo = Cyclo ; Mui du du xanh = L'odeur de la papaye verte by deux films de Trân Anh Hung ; Les Productions Lazennec présentent
Call Number: CHIFLEY PN1997.C93 1999
Publication Date: 1999
Cyclo, A young man who struggles through life by earning some money with his bicycle-taxi in Saigon (Ho Chi Minh city) gets contact to a group of criminals. They introduce him to the mafia-world of drugs and crime.
L'odeur de la papaye verte. Set in 1950's Saigon, this film is about a young country girl who joins a family as their servant and who develops an enduring but secret attachment to a friend of the eldest son.
The Vietnam War by a Florentine Films Production ; directed by Ken Burns and Lynn Novick ; written by Geoffrey C. Ward ; produced by Sarah Botstein, Lynn Novick, Ken Burns.
Call Number: MENZIES DS557.7.V54 2018 DVD
Publication Date: 2018
10 videodiscs in 2 volumes (1020 min.).
volume 1.: Episode one: Dé jà vu (1858-1961) -- Episode two: Riding the tiger (1961-1963) -- Episode three: River Styx (January 1964-December 1965) -- Episode four: Resolve (January 1966-June 1967) -- Episode five: This is what we do (July 1967-December 1967)
volume 2.: Episode six: Things fall apart (January 1968-July 1968) -- Episode seven: Veneer of civilization (June 1968-May 1969) -- Episode eight: History of the world (April 1969-May 1970) -- Episode nine: A disrespectful loyalty (May 1970-March 1973) -- Episode ten: Weight of memory (March 1973-Onward).