LibGuides: Vietnamese Studies: Reference sources

What are reference sources?

Reference sources are resources used to locate basic information and secondary literature.

There are many types of reference sources, including dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, atlases, handbooks, guides, and style manuals.

They are a fantastic places to begin your research, especially if you are exploring a new topic.

Reference sources can help you to:

define your topic in general terms
find background information, including themes and key points
identify keywords and alternative terms for conceptualising your subject, and for database searching.

Online reference resouces

SEALANG Library
Established in 2005, the SEAlang Library provides language reference materials for Southeast Asia (SEA). Initially focused on the non-roman script languages used throughout the mainland, and now concentrating on the languages of insular SEA. SEAlang Library resources include bilingual and monolingual dictionaries, monolingual text corpora, aligned bitext corpora, and a variety of tools for manipulating, searching, and displaying complex scripts.
Vietnam: Country Financial Accountability Assessment
Published by World Bank. View online via Open Knowledge Repository.
The World Bank In Vietnam
Provides information such as data, projects, research and publications.
World Factbook
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, energy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 267 world entities. Contains maps of the major world regions including maps of the physical world, political world, oceans, standard time zones, as well as flags of the world.
more...less...
Access directly via https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/geos/vm.html

Print reference resouces

The Columbia Guide to the Vietnam War by David L. Anderson
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only] & MENZIES DS557.5 .A54 2002
Publication Date: 2002
This book provides an overview of contested issues and interpretations in Vietnam scholarship, a mini-encyclopedia and chronology of key events, annotated guides to resources (including films, documentaries, and websites), and excerpts from historical documents and statistical data.
Contemporary Vietnam : a guide to economic and political developments by Ian Jeffries
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only] & MENZIES DS559.912 .J44 2011
Publication Date: 2011
This book provides full details of contemporary economic and political developments in Vietnam. Key topics covered include Vietnam's success; continuing economic reforms; foreign trade and investment; battles against corruption; population growth; the determination of the Communist Party to maintain its hold on power; and Vietnam's response to public health problems such as AIDS, SARS and bird flu.
Economic Growth and Employment in Vietnam by David Lim
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2014
This book provides a comprehensive overview of the current economic situation in Vietnam. It outlines the state of the economy and employment, discusses government policies such as trade and integration with the global economy, and concludes by assessing the key challenges facing Vietnam's economy going forward.
Viet Nam: a history from earliest times to the present by Ben Kiernan
Call Number: View online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 2017
For many Westerners, the name Vietnam evokes images of a bloody televised American war that generated a firestorm of protest and brought conflict into their living rooms. In his sweeping account, Ben Kiernan broadens this vision by narrating the rich history of the peoples who have inhabited the land now known as Viet Nam over the past three thousand years.
The Vietnam War : handbook of the literature and research by James S. Olson
Call Number: MENZIES DS558.V58 1993
Publication Date: 1993
This reference covers the Vietnam War through all genres of literature including primary and secondary sources; oral histories; fiction and non-fiction; expert studies of military strategy and operations; and discussions about Indochinese refugees, prisoners of war, those missing in action, veterans and post-traumatic shock.