LibGuides: Vietnamese Studies: Open Access

What is Open Access?

Open Access (OA) refers to free, unrestricted online access to scholarly materials.

Open Access enables the communication of research across boundaries of national borders and publication systems. Equal access to government funded, high quality research is a key principle of removing geographical, socio-economic and publisher barriers to credible information

The Australian National University, through its Open Research repository collects, maintains, preserves, promotes and disseminates its open access scholarly materials. You can search the collection of scholarly outputs of the University's academic community as well as digitised material of national and international significance from the University's special and rare collections.

You can also browse the ANU Press collection. ANU Press is a globally recognised leader in open-access academic publishing. They produce fully peer-reviewed monographs and journals across a wide range of subject areas, with a special focus on Australian and international policy, Indigenous studies and the Asia-Pacific region.

You can learn more about Open Access in the ANU Library's self-paced module, Scholarly communications 101.

Open Access

ANU Open Research
The Australian National University, through its Open Research repository collects, maintains, preserves, promotes and disseminates its open access scholarly materials.
Open Research holds a variety of scholarly publications including journal articles; books and book chapters; conference papers, posters and presentations; theses; creative works; photographs and much more in a number of collections and formats. The wider community is free to browse this material and all members of the ANU community (past and present) are encouraged to contribute their research.
The Asia Foundation
Free online publications, surveys, reports and overviews.
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
An independent, community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. All funding is via donations, 40% of which comes from sponsors and 60% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available.
Electronic Records Relating to the Vietnam War: National Archives
Contains userful data and information about incidents and activities specific to land, air, sea and tactical military operations; U.S. Military personnel and the Vietnamese and Allied military forces; intelligence gathering and pacification efforts; and logistics.
The Han Nom Special Collection Digitization Project
The National Library of Vietnam (NLV) in Hanoi holds a special collection of some 4000 ancient texts in Hán and Nôm. Since 2006, the NLV has co-operated with The Vietnamese Nôm Preservation Foundation (VNPF) to preserve this important cultural heritage through the creation of a digital library. The goal of this joint project is to create a user-friendly digital library of the entire Hán-Nôm collection, using current techniques in digital capture, library science, and information technology. Many of these texts have not been previously presented to the world because of their fragile condition.
HathiTrust Digital Library
A digital preservation repository and highly functional access platform. It provides long-term preservation and access services for public domain and copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
Southeast Asia Digital Library (SEADL): Vietnam
Contains digital facsimiles of books and manuscripts, as well as multimedia materials and searchable indexes of additional Southeast Asian resources. Nations represented in the collection include Brunei, Cambodia, East Timor, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.
University of Hawai'i at Manoa - Vietnam Monographs
eVols is an open-access, digital institutional repository for the University of Hawaii (UH) community and researchers around the world. This repository is a database with a set of services to capture, store, index, preserve and redistribute the UHM's scholarly research in digital format.