This dictionary briefly and clearly informs the origin of commonly known Castilian words. Students of all disciplines, professors who teach any subject, non-linguistic scholars and linguists specialized in other languages, romances or non-romances, will find this dictionary useful.

A discursive etymological dictionary establishing the origin and development of Castilian vocabulary, both archaic and modern, Peninsular and Latin American, referencing other Iberian and Romance languages. Interactions with other languages are mentioned in the context of their lexical influence on Spanish. Includes core vocabulary of Latin and Romance derived words, and words of non-Romance origin, notably Basque, Arabic, and languages of the Americas.

A dictionary to assist Spanish-speakers to gain an in-depth understanding of the language, including the differences between the Spanish that is spoken in their country and neighbouring countries. Includes words that are native to the Americas as well as those that originated in Spain but whose meaning has been modified. Lists words that although no longer used in Spain, are kept alive in the different varieties of Latin American Spanish. Over 70,000 words, complex lexemes and phrases, and over 120,000 meanings. Definitions are organised semantically and by frequency of use. Words include synonyms, variants, etymology, origin, phrases, formulas for treatment, communication and lexicalisation, as well as sociolinguistic distinctions (socio-economic level, linguistic style, social value).

Apart from the initial legacy of Latin and the recent influx of English, the two main contributions to the lexicon of Spanish have been, in very different times, that of Arabic and French. This work collects the Arabisms of Castilian, Catalan, Galician and Portuguese, both from Corriente’s own research and from the information of the etymological Dictionary of Corominas-Pascual and other specialists.

The dictionary of choice of Gabriel Garcia Marquez - "Moliner wrote, with her bare hands, the most complete, most useful, most diligent and most amusing dictionary of the Castilian language". In this updated and revised 3rd edition 2-volume dictionary, we see important updates to the content and structure allowing easier use. Most notable are the 90,000+ entries, 190,000 meanings and sub-meanings, an updated block of synonyms, revised botanical and zoological appendix and the inclusion of additional appendixes. It also includes typographical changes to help during the reading or consulting process.

This dictionary refers, in many of its entries, to stories never told outside the places of origin of the protagonists. From A-Z in 270 pages, the entire rock scene of the Spanish-speaking countries including all the groups that transcended beyond their territories and all those that fused rock with sounds is presented.

This Indo-European etymological dictionary allows the user to discover the origin of words to learn its meaning first. It presents words grouped in families with a common etymological origin, which allows to check loans from other languages: Germanic, warlike terms; of French, artillery terms; Persian, textiles and colours, etc. Another notable contribution consists in incorporating the Spanish words of Arabic origin (non-Indo-European language) which it has inherited from Persian, Indian, Greek and other Indo-European languages.

This dictionary contrasts the information of each one of its entries and makes them follow the same scheme to compare, for the first time, the data that is provided from all those texts. More than 70 specialists in medieval literature have collaborated in this project, and it is an original work within the Romance literatures that will provide precise knowledge of the texts transmitted through manuscripts and printed materials.

The Historical Dictionary of Spanish Cinema provides a better understanding of the role Spanish cinema has played in film history through a chronology, an introductory essay, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries on producers, directors, film companies, actors, and films.

This dictionary covers over 90,000 words and phrases, and 130,000 translations. Hundreds of new words from Spanish and English have been added based on findings from Oxford's English and Spanish language Reading Programmes. Includes coverage of both European and Latin American Spanish as well as sections on grammar, culture, and communication providing the tools to communicate effectively and understand aspects of another culture. Key points of Spanish grammar, including verb tables are included. A section on culture offers information on life in the Spanish-speaking world. The communication supplement gives help with all types of correspondence, including example letters, emails, CVs and resumes, and a guide to text messaging. A section on the internet and online services is included in this updated edition.

REDES, a new and unique dictionary, does not define words. It shows the combinations of some words with others according to their meaning. A set of connections between words created according to semantic links that the dictionary explicitly describes.