LibGuides: Spanish Studies: Databases

What are databases?

A library database is an online collection of scholarly resources.

Databases don't hold the resources, but provide the information needed to find it including the author, title, source, publication date, and often an abstract. Many databases have links to the full-text.

Databases can be interdisciplinary (covering several topics), or subject specific (focusing on one particular discipline).

The ANU Library subscribes to over 720 scholarly databases, containing many millions of searchable items including scholarly journal articles; newspaper articles; images; streaming videos; music; and other academic publications.

Searching databases can be a great way to find reliable, peer-reviewed scholarly sources for your research and assessments.

You can see the full range of databases on the Library's e-resources and databases page.

Spanish Studies Databases

Biblioteca Digital Hispanica
The freely accessible portal to the National Library of Spain's digital collections.

CLACSO - Red de Bibliotecas Virtuales de Ciencias Sociales de America Latina y el Caribe
A free Spanish-language resource with full text sources from Latin America and the Caribbean. Source documents include books, articles, theses, conference proceedings and working papers. A joint project between UNESCO and the Human Info NGO.

Descarga Cultura UNAM
Descarga Cultura.UNAM is an innovative digital platform, created by the Universidad Nacional Autónoma de México (UNAM), offering Spanish language content in audio format, available to listen to online or download for free. Updated frequently, the collection comprises a broad variety of genres and content types. The web platform and mobile application give users access to a wealth of digital content, including literature, poetry, essays, theatre, music, conferences, lectures, and master classes, taught by some of the most outstanding academics and experts from the Hispanic world. It also includes a broad cross-section of well-known authors, personally narrating, and discussing their works.

Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Offers full text, abstracts, and bibliographic indexing of the most notable scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines. Among the disciplines included are literature and language, history, philosophy, archaeology, classical studies, folklore, gender studies, performing arts, religion, and theology. Content includes feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, as well as original works of fiction, drama, poetry and reviews.
Gale OneFile: Informe Académico
Provides full text access to a solid body of Spanish-language and bilingual publications in both the academic and lifestyle spheres. It offers unique content and an indexing scheme and interface specifically geared toward the Spanish speaking researcher.
JSTOR
A broad and comprehensive electronic archive of scholarly journal literature in full text, JSTOR has a moving wall which excludes the most current content for a period of between three to five years. It contains academic journals, images, and primary source materials in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences.
Latin American Women Writers
Latin American Women Writers is an extensive searchable collection of prose, poetry, and drama composed by women writing in Mexico, Central America, and South America. Also included are essays by Latin American feminists and about the feminist movement that address both the universal concerns of women in every age and the distinctive issues of their struggles in the region. The database features 103,624 pages of prose, poetry and drama.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
An international abstract and index database which covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics from 1973 onwards. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
ProQuest One Literature
ProQuest One Literature brings together the most comprehensive collection of primary texts, ebooks, reference sources, full-text journals, dissertations, video and more, for unparalleled access to historical and contemporary content by and about celebrated and lesser-known authors from around the world.
OECD iLibrary
This resource contains all the publications and datasets released by the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD). It also contains content published by the International Energy Agency (IEA), the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), the OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and the International Transport Forum (ITF).
Oxford Art Online: Latin American & Caribbean Art
Oxford Art Online includes full text articles in visual arts and art history, image links, thumbnail art images and line drawings. Coverage includes time periods, movement, medium, geography, styles, cultures and people.
MLA International Bibliography
A subject index of scholarly books, journal articles and websites on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics compiled by the Modern Language Association of America. More than sixty languages are represented in the index with coverage starting from 1926 onwards.
Oxford Bibliographies Online - Latin American Studies
A guide to Latin American literature across the humanities and social sciences covering a range of topics from general overviews to highly-specialized themes. Each entry provides a synoptic, bibliographic guide to the key literature and most useful online resources in the area of research.
PressReader
Access to 2,300 full-content, digital newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 languages. Newspapers display in their original layout.
PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanisticas)
A reference resource providing access to full text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin. Features Spanish, Portuguese and English language content. Subject coverage includes anthropology, business and economics, history, literature, political science, and sociology.
ProQuest
A multidisciplinary database which provides access to 37 ProQuest databases, with a variety of content across more than 160 subjects including business, science and technology, health and medical, social science, arts and humanities, and international news. Contents include abstract, index, and full text articles.
REDALYC - Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y el Caribe, España
This Spanish language full text resource offers access to over 800 scientific journals published in Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain and Portugal. Major topics include economics, education, social sciences, psychology, health sociology, agriscience, biology and medicine.
World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean Historical Archive
A multidisciplinary archive resource across the humanities. Source documents include books, journals, manuscripts, historical and contemporary maps, newspapers, and videos. Subject coverage include migration, fruit industry, architecture, and gender issues. Material in multiple languages.