The characters of the song, the dance and the playing of the guitar are the protagonists of the pages in the Breve Enciclopedia del Flamenco. An art that was born in Andalusia but has become universally known.
Introductory essays establish key players and explore important genres such as Biography, Guerra Civil (Civil War), Comedy, Crime, Documentary, Drama/Social Drama, Experimental, Family/Children, Fantasy/Sci-Fi, Horror, Musical, Mystery, Period, Romance, Teen, Thriller and Transicíon (Cinema of the Transition). Reviews and case studies analyse individual titles in considerable depth. Includes contributions from leading academics in the field with 50 full colour illustrations and a comprehensive filmography as an index.
This Encyclopedia provides cultural context for students of Spanish, European History, Comparative European Studies and Cultural Studies. 750 alphabetically-arranged entries provide insights into recent cultural and political developments within Spain, including the cultures of Catalonia, Galicia and the Basque country. Coverage spans from the end of the Civil War in 1939 to the present day, with emphasis on the changes following the demise of the Franco dictatorship in 1975. Entries range from shorter, factual articles to longer overview essays offering in-depth treatment of major issues. Culture is defined in its broadest sense. Entries include: Antonio Gaudi, Antonio Banderas, Golf, Dance, Education, Politics, Racism, Science, and Urbanisation.
This survey examines Latin American music, focusing on popular as opposed to folk or art music, containing more than 200 entries on the concepts and terminology, ensembles, and instruments that the genre comprises. Roughly 200 entries on concepts and terminology, ensembles, genres, and instruments. 37 biographical sidebars of significant musicians and performers as well as a chronology for Latin American popular music.
This encyclopedia draws together entries on all aspects of literature including authors, critics, major works, magazines, genres, schools and movements in these regions from the beginning of the twentieth century to the present day. With more than 200 entries written by a team of international contributors, this Encyclopedia successfully covers the popular to the esoteric.
This encyclopedia includes over 4000 entries ranging from extensive overview entries which provide context for general issues to shorter, factual or biographical pieces. Articles followed by bibliographic references offer a starting point for further research. Extensive cross-referencing and thematic and regional contents lists direct users to relevant articles and help map a route through the entries. A comprehensive index provides further guidance. It covers more than 40 regions spanning from 1920 to the present day. The entries cover food, sport, religion, television, transport, architecture, dance, film, literature, music and sculpture.
As the first comprehensive reference to the world of medieval Spain, this unique volume focuses on the Iberian kingdoms from the fall of the Roman Empire to the aftermath of the Reconquista. The nearly 1,000 signed A-Z entries, written by renowned specialists in the field, encompass topics of key relevance to medieval Iberia, including people, events, works, and institutions, as well as interdisciplinary coverage of literature, language, history, arts, folklore, religion, and science. The work also provides in-depth discussions of the rich contributions of Muslim and Jewish cultures, offering useful insights into their interactions with Catholic Spain.