Written by more than thirty experts in cultural theory, literary history, and literary criticism, this reference work places major authors in the complex cultural and historical contexts that have compelled their distinctive fiction, essays, and poetry. This text provides the historical background to help the reader understand the people and culture that have defined Latin American literature and its reception. Each chapter also includes short selected bibliographic guides and recommendations for further reading.
This text presents a collection of critical readings by many of the foremost film scholars that examines facets of world-renowned filmmaker Luis Buñuel's life, works, and cinematic themes. Includes a multidisciplinary range of approaches from experts in film studies, Hispanic studies, Surrealism, and theoretical concepts such as those of Gilles Deleuze. Presents a previously unpublished interview with Luis Buñuel's son, Juan Luis Buñuel.
This detailed appraisal of Pedro Almodóvar's unique cinematic art examines the themes, style, and aesthetics of his oeuvre and locates it in the context of the profound cultural transformations in Spain since the 1970s. Edited by leading authorities on the subject, this text brings together a stellar cast of contributors, including recognized and established specialists as well as talented younger scholars.
An insightful and provocative collection of essays written by international scholars that thoroughly interrogate Spanish cinema from a variety of thematic, theoretical and historic perspectives. Offers a systematic historical, thematic, and theoretical approach to Spanish cinema that is unique in the field. Presents original research on image and sound; genre; non-fiction film; institutions, audiences and industry; and relations to other media, as well as a theoretically-driven section designed to stimulate innovative research.
This book charts a comparative history of Latin America's national cinemas through ten chapters that cover every major cinematic period in the region: silent cinema, studio cinema, neorealism and art cinema, the New Latin American Cinema, and contemporary cinema. Schroeder Rodríguez weaves close readings of approximately fifty paradigmatic films into a lucid narrative history that is rigorous in its scholarship and framed by a compelling theorization of the multiple discourses of modernity. The result is an essential guide that promises to transform our understanding of the region's cultural history in the last hundred years by highlighting how key players such as the church and the state have affected cinema's unique ability to help shape public discourse and construct modern identities in a region marked by ongoing struggles for social justice and liberation.
Don Quixote de la Mancha (1605) is one of the classic texts of Western literature and the foundation of European fiction. This text offers a comprehensive treatment of Cervantes' life and work, including his lesser known writing. The essays, by some of the most outstanding scholars in the field, cover the historical and political context of Cervantes' writing, his place in Renaissance culture, and the role of his masterpiece, Don Quixote, in the formation of the modern novel. The volume provides useful supporting material for students; a detailed chronology, a complete list of his published writings, an overview of translations and editions, and a guide to additional resources.
Gabriel Garca Mrquez is Latin America's most internationally famous and successful author, and a winner of the Nobel Prize. His oeuvre of great modern novels includes One Hundred Years of Solitude and Love in the Time of Cholera. His name has become closely associated with Magical Realism, a phenomenon that has been immensely influential in world literature. This Companion includes new and probing readings of all of Garcia Marquez's works, by leading international specialists. This insightful and lively book will provide an invaluable framework for the further study and enjoyment of this major figure in world literature.
The Cambridge Companion to Latina/o American Literature provides an overview of a literary phenomenon that has been rapidly globalizing over the past two decades. It takes an innovative approach that underscores the importance of understanding Latina/o literature not merely as an ethnic phenomenon in the United States, but more broadly as a crucial element of a trans-American literary imagination. Scholars in the field present critical analyses of key texts, authors, themes, and contexts, from the early nineteenth century to the present. They engage with the dynamics of migration, linguistic and cultural translation, and the uneven distribution of resources across the Americas that characterize Latina/o literature. This Companion introduces undergraduate and graduate students to the complexities of the field.
These essays analyse history and politics from the nineteenth century to the present day and consider the heritage of pre-Columbian and Colonial Latin America. There is a particular focus on narrative as well as on poetry, art and architecture, music, cinema, theatre, and broader issues of popular culture. A final chapter looks at the strong and rapidly expanding influence of latino/a culture in the United States.
This book offers a comprehensive account of modern Spanish culture, tracing its dramatic and often unexpected development from its beginnings after the Revolution of 1868 to the present day. Specially-commissioned essays by leading experts provide analyses of the historical and political background of modern Spain, the culture of the major autonomous regions (notably Castile, Catalonia, and the Basque Country), and the country's literature: narrative, poetry, theatre and the essay. Spain's recent development is divided into three main phases: from 1868 to the outbreak of the Spanish Civil War; the period of the dictatorship of Francisco Franco; and the post-Franco arrival of democracy. The concept of 'Spanish culture' is investigated, and there are studies of Spanish painting and sculpture, architecture, cinema, dance, music, and the modern media. A chronology and guides to further reading are provided, making the volume an invaluable introduction to the politics, literature and culture of modern Spain.
Novels from Spanish and Portuguese-speaking Latin America are read in translation all over the world. This Companion offers a broad overview of the novel's history and analyzes in depth several representative works by, for example, Gabriel García Márquez, Machado de Assis, Isabel Allende and Mario Vargas Llosa. Indispensable to students of Latin American studies, of comparative literature and of the development of the novel as genre, the book features a comprehensive bibliography and chronology and concludes with an essay about the success of Latin American novels in translation.
This text presents the development of the modern Spanish novel from 1600 to the present. Drawing on the combined legacies of Don Quijote and the traditions of the picaresque novel, these essays focus on the question of invention and experiment, on what constitutes the singular features of evolving fictional forms. Contributors highlight the role played by historical events and cultural contexts in the elaboration of the Spanish novel. Topics covered include the regional novel, women writers, and film and literature.
This text offers an overview of one of the greatest painters of Golden Age Spain and seventeenth century Europe. With contributions from art historians and those working in other disciplines, this book offers fresh approaches to the vast literature on this artist. The essays also guide the reader to an understanding of Velázquez's work--his training in his native Seville, reflections in his oeuvre of artistic currents from outside Spain, and how Velázquez's religious paintings may be understood within the religious context of Counter-Reformation Spain.
This companion gives a concise and accessible overview of the discipline. Covering a wide range of topics, from colonial cultures and identity to US Latino culture and issues of race, gender and sexuality, this book goes beyond conventional literary companions and situates Latin America in its historical, social, political, literary and cultural context.