CultureShock! Spain, a manual to life in Spain, translates local customs and culture and warns against making any social faux pas. It provides practical information to enable those wanting to live and work in Spain, from socialising to learning the concepts behind many terms and Spanish food and late eating hours. Practical advice on how to open a Spanish bank account for example, do's and don'ts in the workplace and how to address locals without giving offence are just some of the many things covered in this guide.
Combines narrative historical chapters with a section covering Argentina’s most important cultural figures, places, and events. Including maps of early colonial trade routes between Spain and South America, major cities and provinces, and topography of Argentina, as well as photographs of early immigrants, the mothers of the Plaza de Mayo, and famous Argentines like Evita Peron. A chronology from Spanish exploration to recent events like the fall of the De la Rúa administration and the presidency of Néstor Kirchner is offered.
CultureShock! Argentina details the country, people and culture, providing practical tips such as finding accommodation, getting around and generally settling down in the country. Read about the Argentines’ unbridled passion and worship of soccer as well as their high sense of fashion consciousness. Learn how to dance the tango and discover why the gauchos who live on the grasslands of the pampas lead a hard life.
CultureShock! Brazil provides insights into the people, culture and traditions of Brazil, and advises on adapting into the local environment. This text includes essential information on the country's history, traditions, beliefs, etiquette, cuisine and leisure activities, as well as linguistic help and hints on how to learn the language. A useful list of foreign words/phrases and a comprehensive list of resources are included.
CultureShock! Ecuador provides essential information on the country's history, traditions, beliefs, etiquette, cuisine and leisure activities. The text provides linguistic help and hints on how to learn the language, including a list of foreign words and phrases. There is a useful list of further reading such as books and websites.
This work provides information on culture and values of Venezuelans. Learn why they have such a strong sense of pride in their country, their attitudes towards family, friends and gender and how to behave at social gatherings or business situations. Understand the importance of learning Spanish, get acquainted with various festivals and join in the country's love for barbecues, music and baseball. This book will also guide you on finding suitable accommodation, convenient transportation, medical facilities and other practical advice.
Speakers often hesitate when trying to use the Spanish language correctly. Do proper names have a fixed spelling? Do we say overtime or extra hours? Do nicknames go in quotation marks? Does Islamist mean the same as Islam? Can you use @ to refer to two genders at the same time? Structured in the form of a question and answer, the 500 most frequent questions in Spanish addresses a wide range of topics: the new norms of accentuation, punctuation signs, abbreviations, the concordance in the sentence, the use of the prepositions, the errors in meaning. The work provides abundant examples along with explanations of the causes of the errors.
This Oxford Handbook surveys the large and growing field of Latin American history, bringing together the principal themes and approaches over the past three decades. Essays address indigenous peoples of the region, colonial history, independence movements, rural history, slavery and race, European and Asian immigration, labour movements, gender and sexuality, popular religion, family and childhood, economic history, politics, and disease and medicine. The contributors include top scholars in the field.