Skip to Main Content

Skip navigation

You are here

Human Rights Law: Cases/Courts

International and Australian resources on the law of human rights.

International Courts and Tribunals

European Court of Human Rights
European Court of Justice
Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia
International Court of Justice
The ICJ and other international criminal tribunals produce jurisprudence that can assist in mapping out the content of a State's obligations under international human rights law.
International Criminal Court
International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia
International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda
Legacy website
Permanent Court of Arbitration
Special Tribunal for Lebanon
Special Court for Sierra Leone
Tries serious violations of international humanitarian law and Sierra Leonean law that occurred since November 30, 1996.

Guides to Courts and Tribunals

Project on International Courts and Tribunals (PICT)
ASIL Human Rights guide
American Society of International Law. See section on case law and decisions under Primary Sources.
European Court of Human Rights Guide on Case-law
The Court has launched a new series of studies on its case-law relating to particular Articles of the Convention.

Case Law / Court Decisions

African Human Rights - Case Law Analyser
Exhaustive access to the decisions of the African Commission on Human and Peoples' Rights." 1993-94 to the present.
African Human Rights Law Reports
BaiLII
British and Irish Legal Information Institute. Includes European Court of Human Rights Decisions.
CURIA
The official website of the Court of Justice & Court of First Instance of the European Communities.
ESCR-Net Caselaw Database
A database of economic, social and cultural rights related jurisprudence, cases and other decisions.
EUR-LEX
European Court of Justice cases from 1954 to present.
European Human Rights Reports (EHR-RPTS)
Westlaw. Full-text decisions from the European Court of Human Rights and selected reports and decisions from the European Commission of Human Rights, as well as settlements and resolutions of the Committee of Ministers." Coverage begins in 1979. Selected decisions from 1960 to 1979 are also available.
European Court of Human Rights Information Notes
Summaries of cases (judgments, admissibility decisions, communicated cases and cases pending before the Grand Chamber) considered to be of particular interest.
HUDOC database
European Court of Human Rights judgments and a significant selection of decisions and reports.
INTERIGHTS Human Rights Case Law database
Contains over 2,500 summaries of significant human rights decisions from both domestic Commonwealth courts and from courts and tribunals applying international human rights law such as the African Commission on Human and Peoples’ Rights and the European Court of Human Rights.
International Legal Materials
Introductory notes to primary documents, including international cases and UN resolutions.
International Law Reports
Full text decisions of international courts and international law decisions in domestic courts from 1919. Contains decisions of the International Court of Justice, European Court of Justice, UN human rights treaty bodies, Administrative Tribunal of the International Labour Organisation and national courts.
Iran-United States Claims Tribunal
Law Reports of Trials of War Criminals
Selected and prepared by the United Nations War Crimes Commission (1947-1949)
Netherlands Institute of Human Rights case law database
SIM Documentation Site provides access to the case law and jurisprudence of the Human Rights Committee, the Committee Against Torture, the Committee on the Elimination of Racial Discrimination and the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women. Also includes information on judgments of the European Court of Human Rights and concluding observations of the United Nations treaty bodies in the context of country reports.
Oxford Reports on International Human Rights Law
Full text decisions of international courts and international law decisions in domestic courts from 1904. The ANU has access to the International Courts of General Jurisdiction and International Law in Domestic Courts modules.
Reports of Judgments, Advisory Opinions, and Orders (ICJ)
WorldLII International Courts and Tribunals Collection
Can search subset of all human rights court and tribunals databases.

/Page Contact: ANU Library Communication

========== -->