LibGuides: Human Rights Law: Research Guides/Reference

Introductory Texts

Research Handbook on International Human Rights Law by Sarah Joseph (Editor); Adam McBeth (Editor)
Call Number: KC200.R47 2010
ISBN: 9781849800556
International Human Rights : a comprehensive introduction by Michel Haas
Call Number: KC200.H33 2008
ISBN: 9780415774550
International human rights in a nutshell, 4th ed by by Thomas Buergenthal, Dinah Shelton, David P. Stewart
Call Number: KC200.B84 2009

UN Human Rights

Research Guides / Online Resources

ASIL International Human Rights guide
American Society of International Law electronic resource guide written by Marci Hoffman. Critically revised and updated on a six-month basis.
Customary International Humanitarian Law Database
Provides an analysis of existing customary rules of international humanitarian law and the practices underlying those rules. This resource is the result of a study conducted by the International Committee of the Red Cross.
European Human Rights System
Globalex guide by James W. Hart (see also the update)
Human Rights - United Nations Documentation: Research Guide
Research guide to UN materials dealing with human rights, with links to full text when available.
Human Rights Law Research Guide
Georgetown Law Library
Human Rights Resources from the United Nations
Links to High Commissioner for Human Rights, Human Rights Council, Universal Declaration of Human Rights, treaties, Research Guide and International Criminal Tribunals.
Humanitarian Law Treaty Database
Provided by the International Committee of the Red Cross. Full-text access to 100 treaties, the current status of signatures, ratifications, accessions, and successions to the treaties, and commentaries to the 1949 Geneva Conventions and their 1977 Protocols. Treaties can be accessed by topic, date, or country.
International Human Rights Research Guide
GlobaLex guide by Grace M. Mills
International Humanitarian Law National Implementation Database
Provided by the International Committee of the Red Cross. Full-text access to documentation and commentaries concerning the implementation of international humanitarian law at the national level through laws, regulations, and case law.
International Service for Human Rights
The leading source for news and commentary on the Charter bodies and treaty bodies.
The University of Minnesota Human Rights Library
Comprehensive collection of human rights documents, including treaties and other international instruments, UN documents relating to its organs, treaty-based committees, specialised agencies, tribunals, world conferences and UN reform.
Universal Human Rights Index
The Index facilitates access to human rights recommendations issued by the United Nations’ Treaty Bodies, the Special Procedures, and the Universal Periodic Review (UPR) of the Human Rights Council. Users can search several categories: state, right, body, affected person and, for the UPR, the state(s) that made the recommendation, the position of the state under review, and the session.
WorldLII Commonwealth - Human Rights
WorldLII Human Rights
A wide range of human rights material by country, courts and case law, law journals, law reform, research centres, treaties etc.

ISHR News and Documents

The International Service for Human Rights is a valuable source of news and analysis on the Human Rights Council, the treaty bodies and the regional mechanisms.

Search Engines

HuriSearch
Developed by the Human Rights Information and Documentation System to find human rights documents created by human rights organizations, including academic institutions, non-governmental organizations, intergovernmental organizations, and national human rights institutions.
asylumlaw.org
Tailored to search the best sources on the Internet for country conditions documentation. Includes human rights reports on several countries. Provides resources for case support, legal research, and links to other relevant sites.
WhatConvention.org
An international legal search engine on human rights and humanitarian law conventions ratifications by country.
University of Minnesota's Meta Search Engine
Searches multiple human rights sites. Library includes large collection of international human rights links.

Library

Find & access

Collections

Research & learn

Using the library

News & events

About

Services for

You are here

Human Rights Law: Research Guides/Reference

Introductory Texts

UN Human Rights

Research Guides / Online Resources

ISHR News and Documents

Search Engines