LibGuides: Human Rights Law: Research Centres /International Organisations /NGO's

International Organisations

United Nations Relief and Works Agency
UN High Commissioner for Human Rights
UN High Commissioner for Refugees
UN Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs
US Committee for Refugees and Immigrants
Includes statistics, Internet resources, and news from the field.

Thematic Research Centres

Business and Human Rights Resource Centre
An international organisation which covers the social and environmental impacts of over 5000 companies, operating in over 180 countries. Topics covered include discrimination, environment, poverty and development, labour, access to medicines, health and safety, security, trade. Website updated hourly with news and reports about companies’ human rights impacts worldwide – positive and negative.
Children and Armed Conflict Unit
A joint project of the Children's Legal Centre and the Human Rights Centre at the University of Essex. Established in 1997 to improve the situation for civilian children caught up in armed conflict and civil unrest and for those emerging from years of violence.
CRC in Court (Convention on the Rights of the Child)
An initiative of the Chidren's Rights International Network, CRIN, to assemble case law in which the CRC has been used to advance children's rights in domestic, regional and international courts.
The Public Law Project (UK)
Administrative Law: Judicial Review. An independent UKlegal charity which aims to improve access to public law remedies for those whose access is restricted by poverty, discrimination or other similar barriers.
UNICEF Innocenti Research Centre
The Centre aims to improve international understanding of the issues relating to children’s rights, to promote economic policies that advance the cause of children, and to help facilitate full implementation of the Convention on the Rights of the Child universally.

Research Centres

Research centres produce working papers and reports on many issues in human rights law.

Australian Human Rights Centre
Faculty of Law, University of New South Wales. An inter-disciplinary research and teaching institute established in 1986 to promote public awareness and academic scholarship about domestic and international human rights.
Castan Centre for Human Rights Law
Faculty of Law, Monash University. Focuses on the study of human rights law globally, regionally and in Australia. Established in 2000 and named after Ron Castan, a passionate advocate of human rights.
Centre for Human Rights and Global Justice
New York University School of Law. In 2002, the Centre for Human Rights and Global Justice was established to bring together and expand the teaching, research, clinical, internship, and publishing activities undertaken within the Law School on issues of international human rights law.
Centre for Human Rights Education
Curtin University of Technology. Provides a focal point for research, teaching and scholarly activity in human rights education. Established in 2003 the Centre seeks to bridge the gap between scholarship and practice and to promote cross-cultural dialogue about human rights.
European Inter-University Centre for Human Rights and Democratisation
An interdisciplinary centre formed by 41 universities from all European Union Member States. The EIUC is founded on a commitment to the realisation of the values in the European Union Charter of Fundamental Rights, the promotion of high-level inter-disciplinary human rights education, research, training and culture, and a shared global understanding of human rights and democracy.
Human Rights Law Centre
Protects and promotes human rights in Australia. Provides resources on both domestic and international casework and litigation, law reform and policy, and materials on specific focus areas. Also provides a monthly human rights bulletin.
Human Rights Law Resource Centre
A national community legal centre that aims to promote and protect human rights in Australia. This organisation aims to contribute to the alleviation of poverty and disadvantage and the promotion of equality and fair treatment through policy advocacy, litigation, education and capacity building.
International Council on Human Rights Policy
The ICHRP closed down in February 2012. This is a web-archive which provides free access to the full archive of 14 years of ICHRP’s publications with over 35 reports and summaries and 200 working papers.
International Law, Human Rights and Environment Research Network
Faculty of Law, University of Technology, Sydney. Focuses on a broad range of research and clinical projects including immigration and refugees and the promotion of human rights in the national and international context.

Project on Extrajudicial Executions

Project on Extrajudicial Executions (2005-2011)
Provided support to the mandate of the United Nations Special Rapporteur on extrajudicial executions, Professor Philip Alston. It carried out factual, legal, and policy research into issues related to unlawful killings around the world.The site contains all of the country mission and UN reports prepared by Alston during his mandate, as well as news related to extrajudicial killings. It also contains legal observations, policy studies and country surveys im its handbook which provides a guide to the law and policy of unlawful killings om international law.

Nongovernmental Organisations (NGOs)

African Centre for Democracy and Human Rights Studies

For other organisations see Directory of Developmental Organizations listed by country, and IGO's and NGO's Research Guide by Georgetown Law Library.

Human Rights Web Archive

Human Rights Web Archive is a project of Columbia University to preserve copies of websites that provide important resources about human rights. Key websites are copied 2-4 times per year. Examples of sites archived by the project include the Egyptian Organization for Human Rights, International Campaign for Human Rights in Iran, and Indigenous Peoples Council on Biocolonialism.

Library

Find & access

Collections

Research & learn

Using the library

News & events

About

Services for

You are here

Human Rights Law: Research Centres /International Organisations /NGO's