Skip to Main Content

Skip navigation

You are here

Human Rights Law: Australia

International and Australian resources on the law of human rights.

Suggested Books

Contemporary Perspectives on Human Rights by Paula Gerber and Melissa Castan
Call Number: KM201.C66 2012
The human rights enterprise in Australia and internationally by Peter Bailey
Call Number: KC200.B35 2009
Human rights law by Peter Bailey
Call Number: KC200.B35 2012
Enforcing human rights in Australia : an evaluation of the new regime by Beth Gaze, Rosemary Hunter
Call Number: KM201.G39 2010
Australian bills of rights : the Law of the Victorian Charter and ACT Human Rights Act by Carolyn Evans and Simon Evans
Call Number: KM201.2.E93 2008
Bills of rights in Australia : history, politics and law by Andrew Byrnes, Hilary Charlesworth, Gabrielle McKinnon
Call Number: KM201.2.B97 2009
Australia and the birth of the International Bill of Human Rights 1946-1966 by Annemarie Devereux
Call Number: KM201.2.D48 2005

Australia's Bill of Rights

Australia's First Bill of Rights
ACTHRA Project: Assessing the impact of the ACT Human Rights Act 2004
ACT ESCR Project: Protecting economic, social and cultural rights in the ACT.
Bill of Rights
by Parliamentary Library. Contains links to resources relating to a Bill of Rights or Charter of Rights at the Commonwealth, State and Territory level. Some comparative material on overseas law also included.
Charter of Human Rights
The aim of the Charter of Rights Project is to inform the ongoing debate about whether Charters of Human Rights should be adopted at federal, State and Territory levels in Australia.

Online Resources / Research Guides

Australia's Human Rights Framework
Attorney-General's Department. Outlines a range of key measures to further protect and promote human rights in Australia.
Human Rights and Anti-Discrimination
Attorney-General's Department. Provides legal and
policy information on domestic human rights matters, anti-discrimination and international human rights.
Human Rights
Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade. Includes links to Australia's submissions to and reports by the treaty and charter bodies, including reports to United Nations bodies and the Universal Periodic Review in 2011. Also includes the current status of Australia's reports on human rights.
Civil and Human Rights
Parliament of Australia. Contains links to resources related to federal civil and human rights law. Also provides links to other guides and directories which contain material on State and Territory and overseas law.
Resources, publications and submissions
Human Rights Law Centre. Includes reports on Australia's compliance with the ICCPR, ICESCR and CERD.
Human Rights Organisations and Resources
Australian Human Rights Commission. Includes links to comprehensive range of Australian NGO's.
Have You Got That Right?
Short videos from the Castan Centre for Human Rights Law, Monash University
The videos are designed to answer important human rights questions “quickly, clearly and in a way that won’t put you to sleep”.

Legislation

Commonwealth

Age Discrimination Act 2004 (Cth)

Australian Human Rights Commission Act 1986 (Cth)

Disability Discrimination Act 1992 (Cth)

Equal Employment Opportunity (Commonwealth Authorities) Act 1987(Cth)

Equal Opportunity for Women in the Workplace Act 1999 (Cth)

Geneva Conventions Act 1957 (Cth)

Genocide Convention Act 1949 (Cth)

International Criminal Court Act 2002 (Cth)

Racial Discrimination Act 1975 (Cth)

Sex Discrimination Act 1984 (Cth)

Victoria

Charter of Human Rights and Responsibilities Act 2006 (Vic)

Equal Opportunity Act 2010 (Vic)

Racial and Religious Tolerance Act 2001 (Vic)

Australian Capital Territory

Discrimination Act 1991 (ACT)

Human Rights Act 2004 (ACT)

Human Rights Commission Act 2005 (ACT)

New South Wales

Anti-Discrimination Act 1977 (NSW)

Northern Territory

Anti-Discrimination Act 1982 (NT)

Queensland

Anti-Discrimination Act 1991 (QLD)

South Australia

Equal Opportunity Act 1984 (SA)

Racial Vilification Act 1996 (SA)

Tasmania

Anti-Discrimination Act 1998 (TAS)

Western Australia

Equal Opportunity Act 1984 (WA)

Anti-Discrimination & Equal Opportuity Bodies / Courts and Tribunal Decisions

Commonwealth

Australian Human Rights Commission

Human Rights and Equal Opportunity Commission Decisions 1985 - 2001. (Determination process transferred from HREOC to federal courts).

Federal Magistrates Court of Australia from 2000 until April 2013

Federal Circuit Court of Australia from April 2013

Refugee Review Tribunal of Australia

Australian Capital Territory

ACT Human Rights Commission

ACT Civil and Administrative Tribunal

ACT Civil and Administrative Tribunal Decisions from 2009

ACT Discrimination Tribunal 1998-2009

New South Wales

Anti-Discrimination Board of New South Wales

Administrative Decisions Tribunal 1999-2013

Administrative Decisions Tribunal Appeal Panel 1999-2013

NSW Civil and Administrative Tribunal - Administrative and Equal Opportunity Division 2014-

NSW Civil and Administrative Tribunal - Consumer and Commercial Division 2014-

NSW Civil and Administrative Tribunal - Guardianship Division 2014-

NSW Civil and Administrative Tribunal - Occupational Division 2014-

NSW Civil and Administrative Tribunal - Appeals Panel 2014-

Northern Territory

Northern Territory Anti-Discrimination Commission

Northern Territory Anti-Discrimination Commission Decisions

Queensland

Anti-Discrimination Commission of Queensland

Queensland Civil and Administrative Tribunal from 2009

Anti-Discrimination Tribunal Queensland 1992-2009

South Australia

South Australia Equal Opportunity Commission

Equal Opportunity Tribunal of South Australia

District Court of South Australia ( for Tribunal decisions pre-2004)

Tasmania

Office of the Anti-Discrimination Commission (Tasmania)

Anti-Discrimination Tribunal of Tasmania

Magistrates Court of Tasmania

Victoria

Victorian Equal Opportunity and Human Rights Commission

Victorian Civil and Administrative Tribunal, 1998-2012

Victorian Anti-Discrimination Tribunal, 1995-1998

Western Australia

Equal Opportunity Commission Western Australia

State Administrative Tribunal of Western Australia 2005-2012

State Administrative Tribunal of Western Australia 2004-2012

Amnesty International Australia News

/Page Contact: ANU Library Communication

========== -->