A new approach to making everyday criminal justice terms accessible. A useful reference work for faculty and students, criminal justice professionals, writers, and anyone else interested in criminal justice and criminology, The Concise Dictionary of Crime and Justice, Second Edition, is an excellent, wide-ranging resource with clear definitions for over 3,000 key criminal justice terms. Often going beyond simply definitions, the dictionary places the entries in a meaningful context, connecting the definitions with other concepts. The dictionary uniquely presents common misperceptions for selected terms, along with additional relevant information to clarify a term's use or derivation.

This UK-focused dictionary provides clear definitions of legal and specialist terminology encountered in law enforcement. From bail and buccal swab to self-defence and sham marriage, it is a wide-ranging dictionary covering terms from the areas of criminology, psychology, pathology, forensic medicine, and financial investigation. The dictionary incorporates some content from 'A Dictionary of Law', edited by Jonathan Law and Elizabeth Martin, entries which have been amended and expanded to be relevant to the law enforcement community.

This bestselling reference text has established itself as the authoritative source covering the key concepts, theories, and methods in criminology and criminal justice. Edited by Eugene McLaughlin and John Muncie, two of the leading figures in the discipline, the book is comprehensive (with over 300 entries), definitive (concepts are precisely defined), student-focused (each entry maps connections across various fields and issues and includes further reading to extend students' knowledge), international (over 90 contributions from internationally renowned academics and practitioners). This will be an invaluable companion for any student or academic within criminology and criminal justice, or related fields including sociology, social policy, and cultural studies.