The SAGE 21st Century Anthropology highlights important topics, issues, questions, and debates in this field in the 21st Century. The purpose is to provide undergraduate students with an authoritative reference source that will serve their research needs with more detailed information than encyclopedia entries but not so much jargon, detail or density as a journal article or a research handbook chapter.
Draws on both science and humanism to explore the scope of contemporary anthropological fieldwork in practice. This thoroughly revised second edition also features new chapters addressing online ethnography; mixed methods and social survey research; and network and geospatial analysis.
The SAGE Handbook of Social Anthropology is a contemporary landmark volume that defines the field and outlines new directions in research. Divided into four sections, each edited by leading figures in social anthropology, this exhaustive handbook covers interfaces, places, methodologies and futures. Within each section authors at the leading edge of the discipline contribute in-depth chapters on the central principles and latest developments in their area of expertise.
This handbook contains a substantial summary of discussions of work by anthropologists on economic processes and issues, on the relationship between economic and non-economic areas of life and on the conceptual orientations that are important among economic anthropologists.
With contributions from 70 practitioners from around the world, this book provides a solid foundation in both the practical and ethical components of forensic work. The book covers the discipline’s historical development; current field methods for analyzing crime, natural disasters, and human atrocities; an array of laboratory techniques; key case studies involving legal, professional, and ethical issues; and ideas about the future of forensic work.
This survey covers a wide range of topics, approaches and theories, such as the nature and function of language systems, the relationship between language and social interaction, and the place of language in the social life of communities. Promoting a broad vision of the subject, spanning a range of disciplines from linguistics to biology, from psychology to sociology and philosophy, this handbook is a reference guide for students and researchers working on language and culture across the social sciences.