LibGuides: Anthropology: Dictionaries

Dictionaries & Thesauri of Anthropology

A dictionary of cultural anthropology by Vivanco, Luis Antonio, Oxford University Press.
ISBN: 9780191836688
Publication Date: 2018
This dictionary comprises more than 400 entries, providing concise, authoritative definitions for a range of concepts, important intellectual figures, and findings. Entries include adaptation and kinship, scientific racism, and writing culture, providing its readers with a wide-ranging overview of the subject.
Biographical Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology by Vered Amit
Call Number: MENZIES GN20 A45 2004
Publication Date: 2004
Dictionary of Anthropology by Charlotte Seymour-Smith
Call Number: MENZIES reference GN11.D48 1986
Publication Date: 1986
Dictionary of Concepts in Cultural Anthropology by Robert H. Winthrop
Call Number: MENZIES GN307.W56 1991
Publication Date: 1991

Anthropology Thesauri

A thesaurus is a reference work that groups words according to similarity of meaning (synonyms and antonyms) as well as broader, narrower, and related terms. A thesaurus is useful when you are defining your topic, or locating relevant sources using a search strategy. Search the Library Catalogue for a Thesauri relating to a particular field. Three are highlighted below.

Oxford Paperback Thesaurus This up-to-date, general-purpose thesaurus offers over 300,000 synonyms and antonyms. Included in the Oxford Reference Premium Collection.

Art & Architecture Thesaurus® Online

The AAT is an evolving vocabulary, growing and changing thanks to contributions from Getty projects and other institutions.

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
An authoritative and comprehensive reference collection combining access to in-depth scholarly resources offered by titles in the Oxford Companions series, together with quick reference coverage using over 120 key Oxford dictionaries and reference works.