LibGuides: Anthropology: Journals and e-journals

Find journals using SuperSearch

SuperSearch is a portal that provides a single search across the majority of ANU Library resources.

SuperSearch is a great place to start searching for journal articles. Here are some tips to get you started:

Refine your results by using search filters.
- Select Articles under Format to search for articles only.
- Select Journals under Format to search for journals only.
Click Journal Search from the top menu to search by title or browse by category.
Use Advanced Search to filter by a particular date of publication, language or format.

You can get additional help with searching for journal articles through the Finding Journal Articles and More guide.

Find print journals

If you can't find the journal you need online, you can also search for print issues. If a print journal is available, it will list the Library branch it is located in under Location.

Issues of journals published before 1990 are usually stored off-campus at the ANU Print Repository. To access these, go to the item record and click on Print Repository under Find in Library and you will be prompted to fill in a request form. Make sure you are logged in!

Anthropology Journals

A great place to start your search is within Anthrosource, the main anthropology journal article database.

To search within other Anthropology databases, go to the Databases tab in this guide and choose a database to search.

Annual Review of Anthropology
Publication Date: 1972 - current
The Annual Review of Anthropology is an annual peer-reviewed academic journal. It covers significant developments on all aspects of anthropology, including archaeology, biological anthropology, linguistics and communicative practices, regional studies and international anthropology, and sociocultural anthropology.
Critique of Anthropology by Sage Publications
Critique of Anthropology is a peer reviewed journal, dedicated to the development of anthropology as a discipline that subjects social reality to critical analysis. It publishes academic articles and other materials which contribute to an understanding of the determinants of the human condition, structures of social power, and the construction of ideologies in both contemporary and past human societies from a cross-cultural and socially critical standpoint.
American Anthropologist
Publication Date: 1888 - current
American Anthropologist is the flagship journal of the American Anthropological Association (AAA), published quarterly. The journal publishes research articles from all four subfields of anthropology as well as book reviews and obituaries, and includes sections on Public Anthropologies, Multimodal Anthropologies, and World Anthropologies. The journal also maintains a website with essays, virtual issues, teaching resources, and supplementary material for print articles.
American Ethnologist
Publication Date: 1974 - current
American Ethnologist is a quarterly journal concerned with ethnology in the broadest sense of the term. The journal’s articles connect ethnographic specificity with original theoretical contributions, conveying the relevance of the ethnographic imagination to the contemporary world.
Anthropological Forum
Publication Date: 1997 - current
Anthropological Forum seeks to examine and advance disciplinary approaches in its publication of articles from a variety of anthropological and sociological perspectives, ranging from the established to the experimental. It publishes empirically based ethnographic studies and probing theoretical explorations dealing with global processes and local instantiations, particularly, but not exclusively, Aboriginal Australia, Australian culture and society, the Pacific and Southeast Asia.
Anthropology and Medicine
Publication Date: 1997 - current
Anthropology and Medicine is dedicated to publishing papers that examine medicine, health and illness in an anthropological context. The journal publishes original papers, reviews, commentaries and debates within the broad framework of medical anthropology, for an international readership.
Archaeological and Anthropological Sciences
Publication Date: 2009 - current
Archaeological and Anthropological Sciences covers the full spectrum of natural scientific methods with an emphasis on the archaeological contexts and the questions being studied. Coverage in the journal includes: archaeology, geology/geophysical prospection, geoarchaeology, geochronology, palaeoanthropology, archaeozoology and archaeobotany, genetics and other biomolecules, material analysis and conservation science.
The Asia Pacific Journal of Anthropology
Publication Date: 2000 - current
The Asia Pacific Journal of Anthropology (TAPJA) is a leading refereed scholarly journal that publishes social and cultural anthropological research with a focus on the Asia and Pacific region, including Australia. This region has been a crucible for significant advances in the discipline and remains an important site for the development of concepts and debates. TAPJA publishes review essays, reviews of books and multimedia products (including music, films, and web sites) relevant to anthropological research and education. TAPJA is jointly published by the Department of Anthropology, School of Culture, History and Language, College of Asia and the Pacific and the School of Archaeology and Anthropology, College of Arts and Social Sciences at The Australian National University.
Australian Journal of Anthropology
Publication Date: 1990 - current
The Australian Journal of Anthropology (TAJA) publishes scholarly papers and book reviews in anthropology and related disciplines. Though wide ranging in its areas of interest, the journal especially publishes theoretically focused analyses and ethnographic reports based on fieldwork carried out in Australia and neighbouring countries in the Pacific and Asian regions.
Cultural Anthropology
Publication Date: 1982 - current
Cultural Anthropology is the peer-reviewed journal of the Society for Cultural Anthropology, a section of the American Anthropological Association. It publishes ethnographic writing informed by a wide array of theoretical perspectives, innovative in form and content, and focused on both traditional and emerging topics. It publishes essays concerned with theoretical issues, with ethnographic methods and research design in historical perspective, and with ways cultural analysis can address broader public audiences and interests.
Current Anthropology
Publication Date: 1959 - current
Current Anthropology is a peer-reviewed anthropology academic journal. It is one of very few journals that publishes research across all sub-disciplines of anthropology, encompassing the full range of anthropological scholarship on human cultures and on human and other primate species. Communicating across the subfields, the journal features papers in a wide variety of areas, including social, cultural, and physical anthropology as well as ethnology and ethnohistory, archaeology and prehistory, folklore, and linguistics.
HAU: Journal of Ethnographic Theory
Publication Date: 2011 - current
HAU: Journal of Ethnographic Theory is an international peer-reviewed, open-access journal which aims to situate ethnography as the prime heuristic of anthropology, and return it to the forefront of conceptual developments in the discipline. Topics addressed by the journal include indigenous ontologies and systems of knowledge, forms of human engagement and relationality, cosmology and myth, magic, witchcraft and sorcery, truth and falsehood, indigenous theories of kinship and relatedness with humans and non-humans, hierarchy, materiality, perception, environment and space, time and temporality, personhood and subjectivity, alternative metaphysics of morality.
Journal of Anthropological Archaeology
Publication Date: 1982 - current
The Journal of Anthropological Archaeology is devoted to the development of theory and, in a broad sense, methodology for the systematic and rigorous understanding of the organization, operation, and evolution of human societies.
Journal of Linguistic Anthropology
Publication Date: 1991 - current
The Journal of Linguistic Anthropology is devoted to exploring and understanding the many ways in which language shapes, and is shaped by, various aspects of social life, from face-to-face interaction to global-level phenomena. It is a publication of the Society for Linguistic Anthropology (SLA), publishes articles and other materials based on anthropological study of language and language-related issues—particularly ethnographic research concerned with the relationships among language, society, and culture.
The Journal of the Royal Anthropological Institute
Publication Date: 1995 - current
The Journal of the Royal Anthropological Institute is the principal journal of the oldest anthropological organization in the world. International in scope, it presents accessible papers aimed at a broad anthropological readership. It also has an extensive book review section, and it publishes a bibliography of books received.