This five-volume Encyclopedia of Anthropology is a collection of over 1,000 entries that focuses on topics in physical anthropology, archaeology, cultural anthropology, linguistics, and applied anthropology. Also included are relevant articles on geology, paleontology, biology, evolution, sociology, psychology, philosophy, and theology. Special attention is given to human evolution, primate behavior, genetics, ancient civilizations, sociocultural theories, and the value of human language for symbolic communication.
Written by leading scholars in the field, this comprehensive and readable resource gives anthropology students a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline. Combining anthropological theory and ethnography, it includes 275 substantial entries, over 300 short biographies of important figures in anthropology, and nearly 600 glossary items.
This comprehensive survey of contemporary thought in biological, social and cultural anthropology sets the foundation for their future development and integration. The principal rationale behind the Encyclopedia is to overcome the division and fragmentation within the approaches of the humanities and natural sciences to anthropology. It emphasizes interconnections between perspectives and sub-disciplines, producing a complete perspective on what it means to be human. Useful features such as cross-references within the text, full biographical references, suggestions for further reading and carefully illustrated line drawings make this an indispensable resource for all students of anthropology or sociology.
A unique, comprehensive four-volume reference work, representing the combined insights of the leading authorities in linguistic anthropology Wiley Blackwell's International Encyclopedia of Linguistic Anthropology is a key scholarly reference for researchers working in linguistic anthropology, communication studies, education, psychology, and sociology, as well as those involved in language revitalization and other community and applied linguistics programs. The only encyclopedia of its kind, this field-encompassing work serves as an essential reference on the history, development, and modern advancements of the full field of linguistic anthropology. However, the encyclopedia is not limited to coverage of the standard canon, but rather is a forward-looking account of the field, addressing the latest--sometimes even controversial--issues in the discipline.
This encyclopedia covers LGBTQ topics in Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, and the Middle East, as well as North America, and takes an interdisciplinary approach to the subject, using film, literature, human rights, politics, landmark legislation, activism, the arts, language, sports, and historical events as points of entry into the content.