LibGuides: Classics: Greek and Latin dictionaries

Online dictionaries

Logeion
Logeion provides simultaneous lookup in the reference sources contained in the Perseus Project. It covers both Greek and Latin, and draws from multiple dictionaries. It provides results from each dictionary, as well as information about the frequency of the word and examples of its use in ancient sources. It also includes reference works on ancient people, places, and mythology.
The Online Liddell-Scott-Jones Greek-English Lexicon
An online searchable version of Liddell-Scott-Jones (LSJ), the premier lexicon for classical Greek. LSJ was first published in 1843 by Oxford Clarendon Press edited by Henry George Liddell and Robert Scott and based on earlier lexicographical work by Schneider and Passow.

Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary: English-Latin by James Morwood (Editor)
Call Number: electronic book

Publication Date: 2005
Pocket Oxford Latin Dictionary: Latin-English by James Morwood (Editor)
Call Number: electronic book

Publication Date: 2005

Print dictionaries

The ANU library holds print dictionaries for both Ancient Greek and Latin. All dictionaries are listed in the Library catalogue. Classical language dictionaries are listed via these subject headings in the catalogue:

English language -- Dictionaries -- Greek

English language -- Dictionaries -- Latin

Greek language -- Dictionaries

Greek language -- Dictionaries -- English

Latin language -- Dictionaries

Latin language -- Dictionaries -- English

Selected print dictionaries are highlighted below.