The Australian National University (ANU) is home to one of the largest concentrations of Myanmar/Burma specialists in the world. ANU has played a central role in regional debate about political, social and economic change and reform in Myanmar/Burma.
The ANU Myanmar Research Centre was launched in 2015. Since then, the Centre has served as the university’s academic hub for Myanmar activities. The Centre provides a flexible and inclusive structure to maintain its activities, build relationships with our Myanmar partners, and create new opportunities for ANU staff and students.

Thousands of books, journals and microfilm holdings in Burmese language and Burma/Myanmar-related materials. The main collection also contains a variety of Burma/Myanmar related English-language material. Resources include: Census of India, Census of Burma (1872 to 1931); newspapers: Working People’s Daily, the Guardian, the Journal of the Burma Research Society and the New Light of Myanmar; Government Gazette from 1875-1925 on microfilm and 1957-1967 hard copy; the catalogue of books 1957-1963 published by the Ministry of National Planning, an almost complete set of the law reports from 1948 to 2007.

Ethnologue languages of the world provides profiles for every languages, overall statistics, guild and tools such as maps.

The comprehensive guide to Myanmar/Burma including related news, information and opinion, blogs, daily newspapers, analysis and commentary, entertainment and jobs.

A basic overview of the Burmese alphabet and number systems. Also provides useful links to online Burmese lessons, phrases, dictionaries and radio.

The Online Burma/Myanmar Library (“OBL”, “the Library”). is a free, non-commercial, open, multi-source, searchable, online research library focused on Burma/Myanmar. It grew out of the documentation on Burma/Myanmar provided from 1987 to the UN, ILO and other international bodies by the Burma Peace Foundation. It provides information on and for Burma/Myanmar, and holds approximately 50,000 links to documents (of which a quarter are in Burmese) and websites. OBL is by far the largest single source of organised Burma/Myanmar material on the Internet. The material - substantial archives, articles, periodicals, reports, books and videos (and links which lead to many more thousands of documents) - is organised under 100 categories such as Health, Land, Economy, Environment, Law and Constitution, Foreign Relations and History. It is a hybrid library/portal site since approximately half the material is located on our own server - the library function - and half on remote sites, to which OBL makes links - the portal function. OBL does not cover breaking news directly, though we link to the sites of the more than 100 groups and individuals which do.

A large database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials. WALS was published as a book with CD-ROM in 2005. To download the "Interactive Reference Tool (WALS program)" please follow the link http://www.eva.mpg.de/lingua/research/tool.php.

The ANU Southeast Asia Institute aims to maintain and promote the role of The Australian National University as the world’s premier institution in the field of Southeast Asian studies, through the conduct of research, the practice of teaching, and a broad range of outreach activities.
For 2023-24, SEAI will prioritize initiatives and activities that: Develop explicitly regional approaches to Southeast Asia, including comparative studies. Our endeavours will complement the country-focused efforts of other ANU Regional Institutes; and Emphasize the theme of security, broadly-defined. This will include geopolitics and military security, but also the nexi between economics and security, development and security, environment and security, domestic politics and regional security, and 'non- traditional' security issues such as climate change, technological challenges, etc.
SEAI is led by the Director, Professor Evelyn Goh, who is supported by a Working Committee of six other colleagues from the ANU College of Asia and the Pacific, as well as an Advisory Board.

The ANU Southeast Asia Institute is proud to launch our original eight-episode interview series titled Southeast Asianists: Scholarly Profiles.
Hosted and produced by Emir Syailendra, this limited series profiled eight scholars who have spent numerous years contributing to our understanding of Southeast Asia as a region, namely: Prof Evelyn Goh, Prof Anthony Milner, Prof Khong Yuen Foong, Prof Cheng-Chwee Kuik, Dr Rizal Sukma, Prof Robert Cribb, Prof Virginia M Hooker, and Prof Anthony Reid.

The ANU Southeast Asia Institute organised the inaugural Southeast Asia Regional Geopolitical Update on Monday 1 May 2023, held in-person on ANU campus, with an additional online audience. This landmark Regional Geopolitical Update adopted the original and timely theme of 'Crossroads, Lifelines, and Guardrails'. We tackled Southeast Asia’s geographical, historical, and socio-political condition as a crossroads for trans-regional flows of people, goods, beliefs and practices. We also unpacked Southeast Asia’s current sense of standing at the crossroads of game-changing geopolitical transitions. The Update addressed four inter-linked question sets: Can Southeast Asian states continue to avoid invidious choices between the great powers? What does ‘strategic equilibrium’ look like for Southeast Asians?; How will Southeast Asian political economies ensure the security of critical supply chains and technology, and the sustainability of development imperatives?; What are the best ways of securing sea lines of communication and vital land routes given strategic uncertainties? and How can the region update and innovate mechanisms for guarding against intramural disputes as well as external tensions and armed conflicts?