LibGuides: Burmese Language: Audio-visual resources

What are audio-visual resources?

The ANU Library provides access to a range of audio-visual (AV) materials, including videos, images, audio, maps, music scores, and more.

You can search the Catalogue for any physical audio-visual resources that may be relevant to your research.

After typing in your search terms you can refine your results to the audio-visual format you are after.

Burmese folk and traditional music (online streaming)
Music sung and played by native performers. Streaming audio file access via Internet.
Contents include: Kyo song (Royal barge music)--Byaw than (Novitiating ceremonial song)--Patt waing (Drum-circle)--Maung saing (Gong-frame)--Saing (Burmese orchestra)--Saung (Burmese harp)--Pattala (Burmese xylophone)--Don min (Burmese kim)--Si daw (Royal drums)--Bon gyi than (Shwe-bo drums)--Do butt (Short drums)--O zi (Pot drums)--Kar gyin (Martial song)--Burmese violin -- Burmese guitar -- Burmese piano.

Ethnographic Video Online
A comprehensive audio-visual encyclopaedia of human behaviour and culture which includes material from every continent. Thematic areas include language and culture, body language, cooking, family structures, music and the arts, gender, and more. It contains classic and contemporary documentaries, previously unpublished footage, and selected feature films.

Mahagita: harp and vocal music of Burma (Online streaming)
Traditional Burmese instrumental music with voice. Streaming audio file access via Internet, CD and booklet is available at the Art & Music library Call no.: CD 3305.

Smithsonian Global Sound This link opens in a new window
A database of music recordings from around the world, drawn primarily from the archives of Smithsonian Folkways Recordings and the archival audio collections of Folkways Records, Cook, Dyer-Bennet, Fast Folk, Monitor, Paredon and other labels. Coverage includes American folk, blues, bluegrass, country, world, jazz, classical, Broadway, spoken word, sounds and children’s recordings.

Pyi thu sa pei, gita, yok shin by Aung Lin
Call Number: PRINT REPOSITORY PL3970 .A9
Publication Date: 1963
In Burmese script this text is about Burmese literature -- history and criticism.
Sud sanaeha = Blissfully yours by a Kick the Machine/La-Ong Dao production in association with Anna Sanders Films ; produced by Eric Chan, Charles de Meaux ; written & directed by Apichatpong Weerasethakul
Call Number: CHIFLEY PN1997.2.S83 2007 DVD
Publication Date: 2007
The story of illegal Burmese immigrants and a love affair that begins during a picnic on the Thai-Burmese border. Produced as a motion picture in 2002.
Thaxin thin pyan taw by Dagon Taya
Call Number: PRINT REPOSITORY PL3971 .D3 1974
Publication Date: 1974
Burmese literature related to history and criticism.
Our Burmese days by Lindsey Merrison.
Call Number: [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 1996
An examination of biculturalism wrapped in an extraordinary personal odyssey. Our Burmese Days is also a fascinating defacto glimpse of life in a country that's rarely covered in the media today. Now known as Myanmar, the film's title is a reference to the novel "Burmese Days" by George Orwell, who worked for a time in the country's colonial police force.