LibGuides: Burmese Language: Databases

What are databases?

A library database is an online collection of scholarly resources.

Databases don't hold the resources, but provide the information needed to find it including the author, title, source, publication date, and often an abstract. Many databases have links to the full-text.

Databases can be interdisciplinary (covering several topics), or subject specific (focusing on one particular discipline).

The ANU Library subscribes to over 720 scholarly databases, containing many millions of searchable items including scholarly journal articles; newspaper articles; images; streaming videos; music; and other academic publications.

Searching databases can be a great way to find reliable, peer-reviewed scholarly sources for your research and assessments.

You can see the full range of databases on the Library's e-resources and databases page.

Databases for Burmese language

Bibliography of Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
Covers all subjects, especially humanities and the social sciences, pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. The most important 100+ periodicals in Asian Studies identified by BAS staff are indexed immediately, but the total number of indexed journals is many times that amount.
Ethnographic Video Online
A comprehensive audio-visual encyclopaedia of human behaviour and culture which includes material from every continent. Thematic areas include language and culture, body language, cooking, family structures, music and the arts, gender, and more. It contains classic and contemporary documentaries, previously unpublished footage, and selected feature films.
JSTOR
A broad and comprehensive electronic archive of scholarly journal literature in full text, JSTOR has a moving wall which excludes the most current content for a period of between three to five years. It contains academic journals, images, and primary source materials in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
An international abstract and index database which covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics from 1973 onwards. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
MLA International Bibliography
A subject index of scholarly books, journal articles and websites on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics compiled by the Modern Language Association of America. More than sixty languages are represented in the index with coverage starting from 1926 onwards.