LibGuides: Burmese Language: Open Access

What is Open Access?

Open Access (OA) refers to free, unrestricted online access to scholarly materials.

Open Access enables the communication of research across boundaries of national borders and publication systems. Equal access to government funded, high quality research is a key principle of removing geographical, socio-economic and publisher barriers to credible information

The Australian National University, through its Open Research repository collects, maintains, preserves, promotes and disseminates its open access scholarly materials. You can search the collection of scholarly outputs of the University's academic community as well as digitised material of national and international significance from the University's special and rare collections.

You can also browse the ANU Press collection. ANU Press is a globally recognised leader in open-access academic publishing. They produce fully peer-reviewed monographs and journals across a wide range of subject areas, with a special focus on Australian and international policy, Indigenous studies and the Asia-Pacific region.

You can learn more about Open Access in the ANU Library's self-paced module, Scholarly communications 101.

What are Open Educational Resources?

Open Educational Resources - OERs - are educational materials that are available under an open license. This means you can freely use, adapt and distribute these resources.

Read our guide for information on how to find and use OERs.

Open Access resources

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
An independent, community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. All funding is via donations, 40% of which comes from sponsors and 60% from members and publisher members. All DOAJ services are free of charge including being indexed in DOAJ. All data is freely available.
Myanmar Manuscript Digital Library (MMDL)
This archive, hosted by the University of Toronto and supported by Robarts Library, aims at bringing together and making manuscripts and rare print editions available online from individual libraries throughout Myanmar. It is the platform for an ongoing digitizing project, initiated and conducted by William Pruitt and an international team of Myanmar and Pali scholars, and supported, since 2012, by the Pali Text Society, as well as by Yumi Ousaka of the Sendai National College of Technology, the KDDI Foundation, the Mitsubishi Foundation, the CARI Foundation, and JSPS Kakenhi.
The Online Burma/Myanmar Library (“OBL”, “the Library”)
The Online Burma/Myanmar Library (“OBL”, “the Library”). is a free, non-commercial, open, multi-source, searchable, online research library focused on Burma/Myanmar. It grew out of the documentation on Burma/Myanmar provided from 1987 to the UN, ILO and other international bodies by the Burma Peace Foundation. It provides information on and for Burma/Myanmar, and holds approximately 50,000 links to documents (of which a quarter are in Burmese) and websites. OBL is by far the largest single source of organised Burma/Myanmar material on the Internet. The material - substantial archives, articles, periodicals, reports, books and videos (and links which lead to many more thousands of documents) - is organised under 100 categories such as Health, Land, Economy, Environment, Law and Constitution, Foreign Relations and History. It is a hybrid library/portal site since approximately half the material is located on our own server - the library function - and half on remote sites, to which OBL makes links - the portal function. OBL does not cover breaking news directly, though we link to the sites of the more than 100 groups and individuals which do.
Southeast Asia Digital Library (SEADL): Burma
Contains digital facsimiles of books and manuscripts, as well as multimedia materials and searchable indexes of additional Southeast Asian resources. Nations represented in the collection include Brunei, Cambodia, East Timor, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam.