LibGuides: Increasing your research impact : how to guide: Citation measures and tools

Citation measures and tools

Citation tracking involves using citation data to measure the impact of an article. This includes using information such as cited references (cited by or times cited) and related citations to measure the impact of research and scholars.

Databases and e-resources that measure and analyse citation impact include:

Scopus
Scopus is a curated abstract and citation database of scholarly literature across 240 disciplines, covering documents dating back to 1788, cited references from 1970 onward, author profiles, books, publishers and institutional profiles.

Use (Citations) or (View Citation Overview) in the search results.There is an altmetrics app (this app may require you to create a free login account).

Web of Science
This database has bibliographic records with abstracts for about 70% of the science citations and 60% of the social sciences citations. Contains Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-; Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-; and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975. It allows the identification of key articles in a discipline and to search by cited reference that is to trace references that refer to a particular work or author.

Use (Cited by) in the results list or the Cited Reference Search tab or (Times Cited) in result list. Web of Science is the world's largest publisher-neutral citation index. The cited-by metric indicates the number of documents found in Web of Science that cite the document you are viewing. Researchers may use this number to understand at a glance a document's potential importance in its field.

Science Direct
Use (Related Articles) in the search results.

To access the (Citing articles), select an individual article first and use the options on the left-hand side of the screen.

IEEE Xplore Digital Library
IEEE Xplore is a resource for discovery and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. It provides access to journals, conference proceedings, technical standards and other documents in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics.

First create a free user account. Once in an article you can see number of times cited and other metrics by date, on the far left of the screen. The bell icon allows you to create a citation alert for the article.

JSTOR
A broad and comprehensive electronic archive of scholarly journal literature in full text, JSTOR has a moving wall which excludes the most current content for a period of between three to five years. It contains academic journals, images, and primary source materials in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences.

Use (Citation Locator) (Items Citing this Item) in the search results

ProQuest
A multidisciplinary database which provides access to 37 ProQuest databases, with a variety of content across more than 160 subjects including business, science and technology, health and medical, social science, arts and humanities, and international news. Contents include abstract, index, and full text articles.

Clicking the "Times cited in ProQuest" link takes users to the list of all documents in ProQuest that cite the associated document.This cited-by metric indicates the number of documents in ProQuest that cite the document you are viewing. Researchers may use this number to understand at a glance a document's potential importance in its field.

PubMed
PubMed comprises more than 37 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Customised to access ANU subscribed full-text from the abstract level in the database via the Find it at ANU button.

Use (Cited by in PubMedCentral) in the search results.

Google Scholar
Provides a search of scholarly literature available via the Internet covering many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.

Using the Google Scholar platform you can search subscription and non-subscription content from one interface. You can search for related works, citations, authors, and publications. Locate the complete document through ANU Library. You can also monitor recent developments in any area of research, check who's citing your publications and create a public author profile.