LibGuides: Increasing your research impact : how to guide: Journal impact and tools

Journal impact tools

Journal impact can be measured by various methods and tools including Article Influence, Eigenfactor, Impact factor, SJR, and SNIP. Analysing journal impact can assist researchers in making informed decisions about which journals to publish in.

Databases and e-resources that measure and analyse journal impact include:

Scopus
Scopus is a curated abstract and citation database of scholarly literature across 240 disciplines, covering documents dating back to 1788, cited references from 1970 onward, author profiles, books, publishers and institutional profiles.
Journal Citation Reports
This resource lets users evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from over 11,000 scholarly and technical journals, from more than 3,300 publishers in over 80 countries. It includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences. Journal Citation Reports can show you the most frequently cited journals, the highest impact journals, and the largest journals in a field. It is compiled from Web of Knowledge data.
InCites
InCites is a customized, web-based research evaluation tool that lets you to analyze institutional productivity and benchmark your output against peers worldwide. With customized citation data, global metrics, and multidimensional profiles on the leading research institutions, InCites gives comprehensive insight into your institution's performance. And with robust visualization and reporting tools, you can create and share reports quickly and easily. First time users must create an individual account by Registering an email address on the InCites website.
SciVal
ANU has a subscription to SciVal, a tool for citation-based research evaluation using Elsevier’s Scopus database. SciVal supports the analysis and evaluation of research publications, and enables benchmarking of performance against global peers across a range of metrics. SciVal also allows a detailed view of topic areas and associations between people and organisations that can help identify potential collaborators.
Essential Science Indicators
Essential Science Indicators helps users determine the influential individuals, institutions, papers, publications, and countries in their field of study, as well as emerging research areas that could impact their work. This compilation of science performance statistics and science data trends is based on journal article publication counts and citation data from Thomson Scientific databases.
Web of Science
This database has bibliographic records with abstracts for about 70% of the science citations and 60% of the social sciences citations. Contains Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-; Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-; and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975. It allows the identification of key articles in a discipline and to search by cited reference that is to trace references that refer to a particular work or author.
Google Scholar
Provides a search of scholarly literature available via the Internet covering many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.

SCImago Lab
Institutions rankings (e.g.SJR World Report) and Journal & country rankings, using citation data from Scopus.
Excellence in Research for Australia
The ARC administered Australia’s national research assessment, Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA). ERA identified and promoted excellence across the full range of research in Australia’s higher education institutions. Through ERA the ARC identified excellence in research. It did this by comparing Australia's university research against international benchmarks. This created incentives to improve the quality of research. The first round of ERA, and the first nationwide assessment of research disciplines in Australia, was conducted in 2010. The ARC published the results in early 2011. ERA assessments were conducted in 2012, 2015, and 2018. The 2023 ERA round was paused.
ANU Research Services
The Office of Research and Information Services provides leadership, advice and support in the operations and management of research services in support of the University's strategic goals.