LibGuides: History: Journals and magazines

Searching for Journal articles with SuperSearch

A great place to start searching for journal articles is through SuperSearch on the Library's homepage.

You can refine your search results by using the menu on the left hand side of the page - click 'Articles' under Format to narrow down results to journal articles only. For more help, see the SuperSearch help page.

You can get additional help with searching for journal articles through the Library's Finding Journal Articles and More guide.

Alternatively, to search within individual journal databases, go to the Databases tab in this guide and choose a database.

A selection of History journals are listed below.

Journals and Magazines

The ANU School of History specialises in Early Modern and Modern history, with a focus on Western history. ANU Library has over 2,000 journal titles in its collection that support these subject areas, as well as other areas such as Classical, Asian, Pacific and Middle Eastern History. There are also many journals which deal with particular historical themes.

The short list on this and the accompanying tabs are a small selection of the scholarly history journals available to you online. A more comprehensive list of all full text 'History & Archaeology' e-journals in the ANU Library collection can be found on our full text e-journals page. Not all journals are held in electronic form however, so you can also search the Library Catalogue to find out if we hold print copies of a journal.

American Historical Review
Publication Date: 1895 - present
The American Historical Review has been the journal of record for the historical profession in the United States since 1895—the only journal that brings together scholarship from every major field of historical study. The journal also publishes approximately one thousand book reviews per year, surveying and reporting the most important contemporary historical scholarship in the discipline.
Comparative Studies in Society and History
Publication Date: 1958 - present
Comparative Studies in Society and History (CSSH) is an international forum for new research and interpretation concerning problems of recurrent patterning and change in human societies through time and the contemporary world. CSSH sets up a working alliance among specialists in all branches of the social sciences and humanities as a way of bringing together multidisciplinary research, cultural studies, and theory, especially in anthropology, history, political science, and sociology. Review articles and discussion bring readers in touch with current findings and issues.
Current History
Publication Date: 1941 - present
Current History is the oldest publication devoted exclusively to international affairs published in the United States. The journal aims to observe and explain the profound changes transforming every region of the world, providing readers with a better understanding of today's crucial events and pressing global trends through contributions from leading and emerging experts and scholars.
Eighteenth Century Studies
Publication Date: 1967 - present
Eighteenth-Century Studies is committed to publishing the best of current writing on all aspects of eighteenth-century culture. The journal publishes different modes of analysis and disciplinary discourses that explore how recent historiographical, critical, and theoretical ideas have engaged scholars concerned with the eighteenth century. Eighteenth-Century Studies is the official publication of the American Society for Eighteenth-Century Studies (ASECS).
English Historical Review
Publication Date: 1886 - present
The English Historical Review (EHR) is the oldest journal of historical scholarship in the English-speaking world. It publishes original and exciting research relating to all parts of the world and all forms of historical inquiry from the Classical era onwards. The EHR includes major Articles and Review Articles, and an unusually extensive range of Reviews of books published throughout the world in English and other languages. On an annual basis it compiles Notices of Records, Texts and Reference Works, and provides a summary of a wide range of periodical literature.
Journal of Modern History
Publication Date: 1929 - present
The Journal of Modern History is recognized as the leading journal worldwide for the study of all varieties of European history. The journal’s broad geographical and temporal scope—the history of Europe since the Renaissance—makes it unique: JMH explores not only events and movements in single countries but also broader questions that span particular times and places.
Past and Present
Publication Date: 1952 - present
Past & Present is widely acknowledged to be the liveliest and most stimulating historical journal in the English-speaking world. The journal offers a wide variety of scholarly and original articles on historical, social and cultural change in all parts of the world and includes challenging work by young historians as well as seminal articles by internationally regarded scholars. The journal examines particular problems and periods as well as wider issues of historical change.

ANU Library holds a number of journal titles which are particularly rich in historical content related to Australia, and the Asia-Pacific region. A small selection of these are listed below. You can also search the Catalogue for the subject heading Australia--History--Periodicals for a more extensive list.

Australian Historical Studies
Publication Date: 1997 - present
Australian Historical Studies is a refereed journal publishing original and previously unpublished (online or hard copy) articles. First appearing in 1940, it is the oldest and most highly-regarded academic journal of Australian history. Australian Historical Studies deals with all aspects of the history of Australia including its global context.
Australian Journal of Politics and History
Publication Date: 1997 - present
Australian Journal of Politics and History publishes papers addressing significant problems of interest to those working in the fields of history, political science and international relations. Articles explore the intersection between politics and history, intellectual history, political history, and the history of political thought. The journal also publishes articles in the fields of international relations and Australian foreign policy, along with regular chronicles of Australian state/ federal politics, and Australian foreign policy.
History Australia
Publication Date: 2003 - present
History Australia is the official journal of the Australian Historical Association. It publishes high quality and innovative scholarship in any field of history. Its goal is to reflect the breadth and vibrancy of the historical community in Australia and further afield.
Journal of Australian Colonial History
Publication Date: 1999 - present
The Journal of Australian Colonial History is produced and published by the School of Humanities at the University of New England (Armidale, NSW). The Journal produces one volume annually, each consisting of between seven and ten scholarly articles, plus book reviews, on a wide variety of subjects, including convict history, bushranging, Aboriginal-settler relations, nineteenth century legal and medical developments, colonial nationalism and republicanism, colonial literature, imperial history, biography, and various aspects of Australia's early social, economic and political history.
Journal of the Royal Australian Historical Society
Publication Date: 1994 - present
The Journal of the Royal Australian Historical Society (JRAHS), the oldest journal of Australian history, was first published in 1901 and is a highly revered and peer reviewed biannual publication. The journal contains original, previously unpublished non fiction scholarly articles, reviews and images.
Scanned copies of RAHS Journals and Proceedings from 1901 – 1954 are now available online through the National Library of Australia’s TROVE at the following links: Vol 1 pt 1 (1901) – Vol 4 pt 5 (1918) ; Vol 4 pt 6 (1918) – Vol 40 pt 7 (1954)
Journal of Pacific History
Publication Date: 1966 - present
The Journal of Pacific History is a leading refereed journal dedicated to research concerning the Pacific Islands, their peoples and their pasts. Its remit is broad: from prehistory to the present. It publishes articles in political, economic, religious and cultural history, analysis of contemporary developments, critical surveys and comment. It also publishes primary documents, notes on source materials, reviews and review essays on books, exhibitions and other media.

A small selection of journals focusing on geographical areas outside of Australia are included below.

Atlantic Studies
Publication Date: 2004 - present
Atlantic Studies is a multidisciplinary quarterly that publishes cutting-edge research, studying the Atlantic world as a conceptual, historical, and cultural space. It explores transnational, transhistorical, and transdisciplinary intersections, but also addresses global flows and perspectives beyond the Atlantic as a closed or self-contained space. Published on behalf of MESEA (Society for Multi-Ethnic Studies: Europe and the Americas), the journal challenges critical orthodoxies that have drawn sharp lines between the experiences and representations of the Atlantic world and its wider global context, in particular in relation to the Pacific and Indian Oceans.
Early medieval Europe
Publication Date: 1997 - present
Early Medieval Europe provides an indispensable source of information and debate on the history of Europe from the later Roman Empire to the eleventh century. The journal is a thoroughly interdisciplinary forum, encouraging the discussion of all aspects of the early Middle Ages with a strong focus on Europe. It covers the entire continent, including insular Europe, Scandinavia, Iceland and the Mediterranean world, as well as interactions between Europe and places beyond it.
French Historical Studies
Publication Date: 1958 - present
French Historical Studies, the leading journal on the history of France, publishes articles and commentaries on all periods of French history from the Middle Ages to the present. The journal’s diverse format includes forums, review essays, special issues, and articles in French, as well as bilingual abstracts of the articles in each issue. Also featured are bibliographies of recent articles, dissertations, and books in French history and announcements of fellowships, prizes, and conferences of interest to French historians.
German History
Publication Date: 1984 - present
German History is renowned for its extensive range, covering all periods of German history and all German-speaking areas. Issues contain refereed articles and book reviews on various aspects of the history of the German-speaking world, as well as discussion fora, reflections and review essays. It is an essential journal for German historians and of major value for all non-specialists interested in the field.
Journal of African History
Publication Date: 1960 - present
The Journal of African History (JAH) publishes articles and book reviews ranging widely over the African past, from ancient times to the present. Historical approaches to all time periods are welcome. The thematic range is equally broad, covering social, economic, political, cultural, and intellectual history. Recent articles have explored diverse themes including: labour and class, gender and sexuality, health and medicine, ethnicity and race, migration and diaspora, nationalism and state politics, religion and ritual, and technology and the environment.
Journal of Canadian Studies
Publication Date: 1966 - present
The Journal of Canadian Studies/Revue d'études canadiennes has a long history of being deeply committed to interdisciplinary perspectives, bilingual presentation of research, and the scholarly study of Canada. The mandate of the JCS/REC is twofold: it aims to publish the best scholarship about Canadian history, culture and society, whether the researcher is junior or senior, living in Canada or abroad; and second, to serve as a vehicle for disseminating solid, original research about Canada.
Scandinavian Journal of History
Publication Date: 1997 - present
Scandinavian Journal of History presents articles on Scandinavian history and review essays surveying themes in recent Scandinavian historical research. It concentrates on perspectives of national historical particularities and important long-term and short-term developments.

In addition to journals which focus on a particular geographical area, ANU Library also holds a number of journals that investigate specific historical themes. A selection of these are included below:

Agricultural History
Publication Date: 1927 - present
Agricultural History publishes articles on all aspects of the history of agriculture and rural life with no geographical or temporal limits.
Dress
Publication Date: 1997 - present
Dress, the journal of the Costume Society of America, represents the highest level of scholarship and addresses many diverse areas of study including examinations of dress in art, social history, anthropology, and material culture. The journal also invites work on fundamental concerns such as theory, research methods, and analytical and interpretative papers that describe and place dress in cultural or historical context.
Environmental History
Publication Date: 1996 - present
Environmental History (EH) is the leading journal in the world for scholars, scientists, and practitioners who are interested in following the development of this exciting new field. EH carries international articles that portray human interactions with the natural world over time. Insights from history, geography, anthropology, the natural sciences, and many other disciplines are included.
Gender and History
Publication Date: 1997 - present
Gender & History is the major international journal for research and writing on the history of femininity and masculinity and of gender relations. Spanning epochs and continents, this journal examines changing conceptions of gender, and maps the dialogue between femininities, masculinities and their historical contexts. The journal publishes rigorous and readable articles both on particular episodes in gender history and on broader methodological questions which have ramifications for the discipline as a whole.
History and Technology
Publication Date: 1997 - present
History and Technology is a world-leading international forum for research on technology in history. Technology – as knowledge, practice, and material resource – has been a key site for constituting the human experience. It has been central to the making and transformation of societies and cultures, on a local and transnational scale, in the pre-modern and modern eras.
Journal of Family History
Publication Date: 1976 - present
Journal of Family History is an interdisciplinary journal that publishes scholarly research from an international perspective concerning the family as a historical social form, with contributions from the disciplines of history, gender studies, economics, law, political science, policy studies, demography, anthropology, sociology, liberal arts, and the humanities.
Journal of Women's History
Publication Date: 1989 - present
The award-winning Journal of Women’s History is the first journal devoted exclusively to the international field of women’s history. It publishes cutting-edge scholarship from around the globe in all historical periods. The Journal also promotes comparative and transnational methods and approaches to historical constructions of gender as they shape and are in turn shaped by women’s experiences.

Books and journals have their place, but informative online historical magazines, either from the Library's collection or freely available in the public domain, can also be useful and important sources of historical information - a selection of which appear below.

BBC History
Publication Date: 2015 - present
BBC History Magazine is Britain's bestselling history magazine, exploring a broad range of British and global history in an authoritative but accessible fashion. Each issue you'll find expert takes on everything from ancient Egypt, Greece and Rome, to the medieval and Tudor periods, the Victorian era, the two world wars and beyond. Drawing on the latest research, we provide fresh perspectives on history's best-known stories and shine a light on some of the more obscure corners of our past.
Smithsonian
Publication Date: 1994 - present
Smithsonian magazine places a Smithsonian lens on the world, looking at the topics and subject matters researched, studied and exhibited by the Smithsonian Institution—science, history, art, popular culture and innovation—and chronicling them every day for our diverse readership.
Vogue Archive
Publication Date: 1892 - present
The Vogue archive is a treasure-chest of the work of the greatest designers, photographers, stylists and illustrators of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries, and a unique record of American and international popular culture. The complete archive runs from 1892 to the present, with every issue digitised in high-resolution colour scans, including every page, cover, advertisement and fold-out. Almost half a million pages of extraordinarily image-rich material is available online for the first time. Updated every month to include the current issue of Vogue.