Keith Jenkins' work on historical theory is renowned; this collection presents the essential elements of his work over the last fifteen years. Here we see Jenkins address the difficult and complex question of defining the limits of history. The collection draws together the key pieces of his work in one handy volume, encompassing the ever controversial issue of postmodernism and history, questions on the end of history and radical history into the future. Exchanges with Perez Zagorin and Michael Coleman further illuminate the level of debate that has surrounded postmodernism, and which continues to do so.

This broad survey introduces readers to the major themes, figures, traditions and theories in Western historical thought, tracing its evolution from biblical times to the present. Surveys the evolution of historical thought in the Western World from biblical times to the present day. Provides students with the background to contemporary historical debates and approaches. Serves as a useful reference for researchers and teachers. Includes chapters by 24 leading historians.

Fifty Key Works of History and Historiography introduces some of the most important works ever written by those who have sought to understand, capture, query and interpret the past. The works covered include texts from ancient times to the present day and from different cultural traditions ensuring a wide variety of schools, methods and ideas are introduced. Each of the fifty texts represents at least one of six broad categories: early examples of historiography (e.g. Herodotus and Augustine) non-western works (e.g. Shaddad and Fukuzawa) 'Critical' historiography (e.g. Mabillon and Ranke) history of minorities, neglected groups or subjects (e.g. Said and Needham) broad sweeps of history (e.g. Mumford and Hofstadter) problematic or unconventional historiography (e.g. Foucault and White).

The Historian's Toolbox introduces students to the theory, craft, and methods of history and equips them with a series of tools to research and understand the past. This fourth edition expands the repertory of tools and techniques available to students entering the workshop of history. These include materials on the Kennedy assassination, the litigation of Van Gogh's Night Café, local town histories, contemporary history, Twitter, and the contemplation of the end of history as well as the Sixth Extinction in a new epilogue. The book demonstrates the relevance and expanding possibilities of the study of history in our cacophonous information age of tweetstorms and fake news; it emphasises the increasing value of critical thinking, facts and evidence in the face of political lies and conspiracy theories.

The Information-Literate Historian: A Guide to Research for History Students is the only book specifically designed to teach today's history students how to successfully select and use sources--primary, secondary, and electronic--to carry out and present their research. Expanded and updated, the third edition of The Information-Literate Historian continues to be an indispensable reference for historians, students, and other readers doing history research.

This thoroughly revised edition maintains all the features that make The Oxford Companion to Australian History (first published in 1998) a superb reference for all those interested in Australian history. The Companion contains approximately 1,600 entries, on politicians, colonizers, visionaries, newspaper barons, industrialists, explorers, artists, and scientists. New entries have been written on topics such as the Olympic Games and Reconciliation. Readers will find incisive entries on matters such as art, capital punishment, gambling, literature, language, and republicanism. The bibliographical citations, a key feature of the book, are also now completely up to date.The Companion is immensely readable and entertaining with a range of curious and unexpected entries such as those on duels, two-up, Vegemite, and the six o'clock swill.

The Routledge Companion to Modern European History since 1763 is a compact and highly accessible work of reference covering the broad sweep of events from the last days of the ancient regime to the ending of the Cold War, and from the reshaping of Eastern Europe to the radical expansion of the European Union in 2004. Within the broad coverage of this outstanding volume, particular attention is given to subjects such as: the era of the Enlightened Despots the Revolutionary and Napoleonic era in France, and the revolutions of 1848 nationalism and imperialism, and the retreat from Empire the First World War, the rise of the European dictators, the coming of the Second World War, the Holocaust, and the post-war development of Europe the Cold War, the Soviet Union and its break up the protest and upheavals of the 1960s, as well as social issues such as the rise of the welfare state, and the changing place of women in society throughout the period.

The Routledge Companion to Historical Studies provides a much-needed critical introduction to the major historians and philosophers together with the central issues, ideas and theories which have prompted the rethinking of history that has gathered pace since the 1990s.