An authoritative and extensive resource for British and Irish history  Quickly access basic information on the history of the British Isles from this reliable resource. A Dictionary of British and Irish History provides concise information covering all periods of prehistory and history for every part of the British Isles. Within this one book, you'll find summary accounts of events, biographies, definitions of terms, and far more.  Using alphabetically organized headwords, readers will easily locate the content and details they seek. A Dictionary of British and Irish History not only serves as a reference tool, but also stimulates broader learning. 

This authoritative dictionary distinguishes itself by providing informative and analytical entries on the most important people, organizations and events that have shaped our history from 1900 to the present day. Fully updated and revised, and with over 2,600 entries, this volume gives excellent ‘global’ coverage and - while also providing an enhanced coverage of the European Union - avoids presenting an exclusively ‘Euro-centric’ perspective of World History.

This wide-ranging dictionary contains a wealth of information on all aspects of history, from prehistory right up to the present day. It includes biographies of key figures in world history, historical summaries for each country, and entries on religious and political movements, international organizations, and key battles and places. The second edition has been thoroughly updated to include recent changes in world affairs. There are new and updated biographies (e.g. Vladimir Putin, Benedict XVI, Tony Blair) and entries on recent major events and their after-effects (including the Orange Revolution and the 2004 tsunami).

The period from 1913 to 1933 is not often seen as a coherent entity in the history of the United States. It is more often viewed in terms of two distinct periods with the pre-war era of political engagement, idealism, and reform known as "progressivism" separated by World War I from the materialism, conservatism and disengagement of the "prosperous" 1920s. This second edition of Historical Dictionary from the Great War to the Great Depression covers the history of this period through a chronology, an introductory essay, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography.

Spanning almost one thousand years, from the first Olympic Games in 776 BC to the death of Marcus Aurelius in AD 180, this accessible and wide-ranging reference work draws on the groundbreaking Oxford Classical Dictionary to present more than 2,500 entries on the civilizations of ancient Greece and Rome. The dictionary covers key aspects of ancient Greek and Roman life and literature, such as science, social structure, philosophy, and religion, and contains comprehensive articles on central figures, both real and mythological, from Achilles to Zeno.