Scholarly journals can be used to both enhance and broaden your existing knowledge of a subject, and are fundamental to your research and learning. Scholarly journals are also referred to as academic journals, ‘serials’ or ‘periodicals’, and these can also include newspapers, magazines and other publications.
The information contained in a scholarly journal covers a wide variety of subject areas, and is often more up-to-date than information contained in books or other information sources.
The ANU Library’s collection contains an extensive range of print and electronic scholarly journals.
A scholarly journal is a publication, which is published at regular installments, and contains scholarship and research relating to a particular subject area.
The majority of journals contain “peer-reviewed” or “refereed” articles written by academics, scholars and other experts in a field of study, which are then subject to rigorous evaluation by other academics, scholars, or experts in the same field as the author. The process of peer-review or refereeing is a form of scholarly ‘quality control’ that ensures the information is original, authoritative and of a high standard.
Print and electronic journals can be discovered via SuperSearch—an all-in-one academic search engine that enables you to search both the print and online collection of the ANU Library at the same time—or via the Library catalogue. You can also search electronic journals only via the Full text e-journals and the E-resources & databases searches on the Library homepage. For more information on searching the Library catalogue for journal titles visit the Finding books and more how to guide.
The basic bibliographic information required to find and/or reference a book, journal or article, for example the title of the journal your article is located in, is called a citation and you can use this information to search the Library catalogue. If the article is located in an e-journal or online database, the catalogue will provide you with a link to access the material, provided that the ANU Library has access to the e-resource.
If the article is contained in a printed journal, the catalogue record will tell you its location.
The majority of the Library’s older print journals are stored off-site at the ANU Print Repository, while more recently published volumes are kept in one of the Library’s five specialised branches. To find the location of a printed journal, or to request a copy of a journal stored in the Repository, search the Library catalogue and check the details in the catalogue record, but remember undergraduate students are not able to borrow journals, and postgraduates and staff members may only borrow journals for one week.
In the following sections of this module we’ll take an in-depth look at some of the different methods you can use to search for journal articles and find the information you need to help give your research the winning edge.