A library database is an online collection of scholarly resources.
Databases don't hold the resources, but provide the information needed to find it including the author, title, source, publication date, and often an abstract. Many databases have links to the full-text.
Databases can be interdisciplinary (covering several topics), or subject specific (focusing on one particular discipline).
The ANU Library subscribes to over 620 scholarly databases, containing many millions of searchable items including scholarly journal articles; newspaper articles; images; streaming videos; music; and other academic publications.
Searching databases can be a great way to find reliable, peer-reviewed scholarly sources for your research and assessments.
This comprehensive database covers the world's mathematical literature since 1940, including journals, conference proceedings, and books of mathematics research. MathSciNet provides online access to the bibliographic data, signed reviews, and citations of mathematical research literature contained in Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications.
Zentralblatt MATH (zbMATH) provides access to bibliographic data, reviews and abstracts from all areas of pure and applied mathematics, as well as its applications, in particular to the natural sciences, computer science, economics and engineering. zbMATH covers all published and refereed articles, books, conferences as well as CD, DVD, videos, web-documents, and partial coverage of theses.
The largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature with over 84 million records of over 26,000 peer-reviewed titles from more than 7,000 publishers. It provides access to reliable data, metrics and analytical tools.
This database has bibliographic records with abstracts for about 70% of the science citations and 60% of the social sciences citations. Contains Science Citation Index Expanded 1900-; Social Sciences Citation Index 1956-; and Arts & Humanities Citation Index from 1975. It allows the identification of key articles in a discipline and to search by cited reference that is to trace references that refer to a particular work or author.