LibGuides: Country, Company and Industry Research: ASX companies

ASX Listed Companies

ASX Listed companies are public companies that are listed on the Australian Stock Exchange. The public can buy shares in these companies. Public companies face a higher level of regulation and compliance than Private companies. This means they are required to post annual financial reports and there is often more information available on Public companies for this reason.

The databases below provide company reports on ASX Listed Public Companies.

IBISWorld industry reports This link opens in a new window
The resource provides access to Australia industry research reports, Australia risk ratings reports, Australia company reports and more.
IBISWorld provides company reports on the top 2000 Australian companies by revenue. To search for a company report, simply type the name of the company into the main search box.
DatAnalysis Premium This link opens in a new window
Detailed reports for all current and formerly listed companies on the Australian Stock Exchange (ASX). These reports are updated daily from relevant ASX announcements, and include announcements, financial data for the last 10 years and scanned images of annual reports.
To build a list of companies - select Search Tool > Advanced Search
To search across ASX announcements - select Search Tool > ASX Announcements (PDF) Search.
Factiva
An expansion of Dow Jones, delivers news and business information from newspapers, magazines, newswires, media programs, web sites, company reports and pictures from Reuters and Knight Ridder.
To locate company profiles, select Companies/Markets > Companies from the drop-down menu at the top of the Factiva homepage. You can also use the Factiva homepage to run a press search on a company.
Gale Business Insights
Explore the world's companies through expert analysis such as SWOT analyses, financial statements, case studies and articles from academic journals, trade magazines, news outlets and more.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.

Access company profile reports from Acquisdata; Canadean; Experian Commercial Risk Database; ICD Research Reports; and World Market Intelligence.

To search for company reports:

Click on the Advanced Search link. Enter the name of a company into the top search box e.g. "Rio Tinto"
Use the drop-down menu at the right of the page to limit your search to the Document title - TI of each report.
Scroll to the bottom of the page. Navigate to the document type box. Place a tick in the checkbox next to Company Profile.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is a premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance and more.