Reference works / Reference resources : Introduction
Reference works, or reference sources, are materials that tell you about other materials: what was published about this or that topic?
--- Encyclopedias and Handbooks: First address to get professionally acquainted with a research topic. Encyclopedias and Handbooks introduce you to a topic, show you an overall state of research, and the development of research for it. Wikipedia is an encyclopedia contributed to by everyone and everyone with an agenda, so it may be a good first step, but needs to be treated with caution. For encyclopedias please use the "encyclopedias" tab, and for handbooks the "Handbooks" tab from the sub-menu.
-- Bibliographies: These give the "materials on materials" overview. What has been written about a topic so far? What are the most important and influential materials? Bibliographies help you to narrow down your search results to relevant materials properly.
-- Dictionaries: Besides the classical definition of a dictionary, there are also topic-related ones. They explain vocabulary and expressions used in specific research areas or subjects. Very useful if you need specific language in your subject.
This multi-volume History of Civilizations of Central Asia, published in English, is the first attempt to present a comprehensive picture of the cultures that flourished and vanished at the heart of the Eurasian continent from the dawn of civilization to the present day. This History sheds new light on the fabulous cultural heritage of lands that were shaped by the movements of peoples and varied civilizations.
Call Number: MENZIES DS329.4.C35 1990, and online [ANU staff and students only]
Publication Date: 1990
This volume introduces the geographical setting of Central Asia and follows its history from the palaeolithic era to the rise of the Mongol empire in the thirteenth century.
The Cambridge History of Inner Asia by Robert McChesney; Nicola Di Cosmo
Call Number: MENZIES: DS329.4.C36 2009
Publication Date: 2009
This volume centres on the history and legacy of the Mongol World Empire founded by Chinggis Khan and his sons. Geographically, it focuses on the continental region from East Asia to Eastern Europe. Beginning in the twelfth century, the volume moves through to the establishment of Chinese and Russian political hegemony in Inner Asia from the sixteenth to the nineteenth centuries.