Skip to Main Content
Skip navigation


Central Asian Studies

Important notice about resource links

The ANU Library has recently transitioned to a new search and discovery system. This means that the links to the resources outlined in this guide will need to be updated, so they direct you to the record in the new system. If you come across a resource with a broken link, you can access the item by searching for the title or author in our Catalogue or SuperSearch.

If you have any questions or need support, please get in touch.

Thank you for reading our subject guides. We hope they are helpful to your studies and research.


This is a guide to Central Asian Studies resources and collections available from the ANU Library, including openly accessible materials; relevant websites; and much more. Central Asia is a term that describes the region from the Caspian Sea to China and Mongolia, and from Iran and Afghanistan to Russi. It is formed mainly by the countries of Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan. Other models include Afghanistan, East Turkestan, northeast Iran, northern and central Pakistan, northern India, western China and Mongolia.

The Menzies Library is the hub of the Library's Asia Pacific focused services. This includes a wide range of resources for the study of the Central Asia for both undergraduate and postgraduate students. Visit the Menzies Library information desk if you need help with any library related matter. You can also book an appointment with an information adviser.

The Menzies Library is one of the five on-campus branches of the ANU Library. Please visit the ANU Library website for detailed information on resources, services and opening hours for each branch.

Map of Central Asia states
(Courtesy of CartoGIS Services, College of Asia and the Pacific, The Australian National University, segment of Central Asian states.)


Responsible Officer: University Librarian/Page Contact: Library Systems & Web Coordinator