The South Asia Archive holds 5 million pages of primary and secondary material from novels, film posters, religious tracts, census reports, government acts and journal publications ranging roughly from the early 18th century to the early 1950s. Although a majority of the material is in English, there is much in Bengali, and some in Sanskrit, Hindi, Marathi and other South Asian languages. Most of the material pertains to India, with some on Sri Lanka, Burma, Nepal, Tibet and other neighbouring countries.
The South Asia Open Archives (SAOA), a subset of the South Asia Materials Project (SAMP), creates and maintains a collection of open access materials for the study of South Asia. This major collaborative initiative is aimed at addressing the current scarcity of digital resources pertinent to South Asia studies and at making collections more widely accessible both to North American scholars and to researchers worldwide.
The first and only detailed website on Indian rare manuscripts (200 to 350 years old), antique books, historical ancient documents and inscriptions. The Division of Rare Manuscripts welcomes students, scholars and researchers to browse over 1,50,000 e-pages of original ancient Indian Scripts full of vast knowledge and wisdom of ancient India.
Essays exploring the history of the book in pre-modern South Asia looking at the production, circulation, fruition and preservation of manuscripts in different areas and across time. This resource covers a wide range of topics related to South Asian manuscript culture, including: material dimension (palaeography, layout, decoration); the interactions of manuscripts with printing in late medieval Tibet and modern Tamil Nadu; reading, writing, editing and educational practices; manuscripts as sources for the study of religious, literary and intellectual traditions; the creation of collections in medieval India and Cambodia; and, the formation of the Cambridge collections in the colonial period.
The National Archives of India is the custodian of the records of enduring value of the Government of India. Established in 1891 at Calcutta (Kolkata) as the Imperial Record Department, it is the biggest archival repository in South Asia. It has a vast corpus of records such as public records, private papers, oriental records, cartographic records and microfilms, which constitute an invaluable source of information for scholars-administrators and users of archives.
SARAI (also known as the South Asian Studies Virtual Library) was developed and hosted at Columbia University Libraries between 1994 and 2017. This page provides historical background on SARAI, and a list of archived websites.
SAOA creates and maintains a collection of open access materials for the study of South Asia. This major collaborative initiative is aimed at addressing the current scarcity of digital resources pertinent to South Asian studies and at making collections more widely accessible both to North American scholars and to researchers worldwide.