LibGuides: Sanskrit Language: Databases

What are databases?

A library database is an online collection of scholarly resources.

Databases don't hold the resources, but provide the information needed to find it including the author, title, source, publication date, and often an abstract. Many databases have links to the full-text.

Databases can be interdisciplinary (covering several topics), or subject specific (focusing on one particular discipline).

The ANU Library subscribes to over 720 scholarly databases, containing many millions of searchable items including scholarly journal articles; newspaper articles; images; streaming videos; music; and other academic publications.

Searching databases can be a great way to find reliable, peer-reviewed scholarly sources for your research and assessments.

You can see the full range of databases on the Library's e-resources and databases page.

Databases for Sanskrit language

Foreign Office files for India, Pakistan and Afghanistan,1947-1980 (I, II and III)
These databases consist of scanned facsimiles of UK Foreign Office original documents, including hand-written annotations.
India, Raj & Empire
Drawing upon the manuscript collections of the National Library of Scotland this resource documents the history of South Asia between the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 and the granting of independence to India and Pakistan in 1947.
JSTOR
A broad and comprehensive electronic archive of scholarly journal literature in full text, JSTOR has a moving wall which excludes the most current content for a period of between three to five years. It contains academic journals, images, and primary source materials in the social sciences, humanities, and sciences.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
An international abstract and index database which covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax and semantics from 1973 onwards. Complete coverage is given to various fields of linguistics including descriptive, historical, comparative, theoretical and geographical linguistics.
MLA International Bibliography
A subject index of scholarly books, journal articles and websites on modern languages, literatures, folklore and linguistics compiled by the Modern Language Association of America. More than sixty languages are represented in the index with coverage starting from 1926 onwards.
South Asia Archive
The South Asia Archive holds 5 million pages of primary and secondary material from novels, film posters, religious tracts, census reports, government acts and journal publications ranging roughly from the early 18th century to the early 1950s. Although a majority of the material is in English, there is much in Bengali, and some in Sanskrit, Hindi, Marathi and other South Asian languages. Most of the material pertains to India, with some on Sri Lanka, Burma, Nepal, Tibet and other neighbouring countries.